[Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
bgma1961
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:19 am

Re: Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby bgma1961 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:39 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:29 pm
bgma1961 wrote:
Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:40 pm
Yes, I have tried the proposed measures without it working.
So you can try upgrading or downgrading the graphics card driver.
ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470

Thank you very much for your help!
Now it works! :D
chrisb
Posts: 15219
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:49 pm

bgma1961 wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:39 pm
Thank you very much for your help!
Now it works! :D
Which driver lead to success?
bgma1961
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:19 am

Re: Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby bgma1961 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:03 pm

chrisb wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:49 pm
bgma1961 wrote:
Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:39 pm
Thank you very much for your help!
Now it works! :D
Which driver lead to success?
ERR7_ATI.png
ERR7_ATI.png (6.42 KiB) Viewed 288 times
https://www.amd.com/en/support/graphics ... on-hd-5470
chrisb
Posts: 15219
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:27 pm

Thanks for the report.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11044
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby yorik » Sat Oct 27, 2018 6:32 pm

Tools -> Save image... doesn't work anymore for me with qt5/py3, neither thumbnail generation (which I think uses the same mechanism):
<unknown exception traceback><class 'RuntimeError'>: Cannot save null image.
Can anyone else using qt5/py3 check?
TheMarkster
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby TheMarkster » Sat Oct 27, 2018 6:38 pm

Works here

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.14979 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 47536dcd3729d3db106af628d62f2bf449e68c49
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 15219
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby chrisb » Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:52 pm

yorik wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 6:32 pm
<unknown exception traceback><class 'RuntimeError'>: Cannot save null image.
Seems to be the known issue from above. I'm not sure if this started here when switching to 0.17 or switching from qt4 to qt5, I think it was the latter. Since then I use the Screenshot utility.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11044
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18

Postby yorik » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:16 am

hmm not sure it has to do with graphics drivers in my case... It does the same on both the nvidia and intel drivers.
But if it works for @TheMarkster with py3/qt5 then it's probably not the culprit either. Will investigate more..