(Solved) 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7049
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby DeepSOIC » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:18 am

Just in case. I occasionally whip out standalone tree view, when I need to drag stuff around. Standalone tree view can be made much bigger, that is very helpful with drag-dropping.

It is sometimes useful for making screenshots for tutorials.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby NormandC » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:34 pm

Maybe Qt doesn't allow this, but if you could simply drag & drop one of the tabs (Model / Tasks) outside of the Combo view, it may eliminate the need for separate Model and Tasks views. In the Combo view, you can already collapse down the Property tabs.

In other words: would it be possible for the Combo view to be a customizable container?

This discussing makes me recall ickby's GUI experiment... https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=23053
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5895
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:58 pm

user1234 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:15 pm
Sorry for the many *.gif, but a dynamic issue is hard to show.
Please install SimpleScreenRecorder and create a video.
Upload to Peertube. For example:
https://peertube.mastodon.host/videos/w ... 3d17672afb

Please check tesselation. Chance to 0,2 or 0,5%.
user1234
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby user1234 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:29 am

Hello!
DeepSOIC wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:18 am
I occasionally whip out standalone tree view .....
+1

Should i open feature request on the UI/UX forum?
NormandC wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:34 pm
This discussing makes me recall ickby's GUI experiment... https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=23053
This would be extreme good.
freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:58 pm
Upload to Peertube. For example:
I do not have access to any kind of online plattform except FreeCAD, and want no access .....
freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:58 pm
Please check tesselation. Chance to 0,2 or 0,5%.
Checked before and now. 1%. Also the deviation (tesselation) should not really have an effect on zooming (only a little bit).

But i have an idea from where the frameratedrops comes. I had installed 0.17 stable and opend a model. A default setting in FreeCAD is turntable on. While the model rotates in the screen it was fluent. But while rotating the model came over the mouse. The framerate always droped, when the mouse came over an other surface. On simpler surfaces the drops was short and the framerate was only a little bit down. But when the mouse was over a complicate surface, the first framerate drop was harder and the framerate was later on more down.

I think the drops came from the "preselected" surfaces and the calculated coordinates. I do not know the sourcecode from this, but i think FreeCAD must work with a mouseover function though a list (more surfaces, longer list) and afterwards FreeCAD calculates the coordinates. Only a thought. But when the framerate drops, the CPU goes up and the graficcard do not work more.
01.png
01.png (14.55 KiB) Viewed 308 times
Sorry for very bad english.

Greetings
user
user1234
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby user1234 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:04 pm

Hello!

Is it possible to comment this function (get preselection and get coordintes) out? Or where i can comment it out? I thought, this is in the src/GUI/Selection.cpp or src/GUI/SoFCSelection.cpp. But i was not sucessful ..... . I really want to make a testcompile.
Greetings
user
freedman
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby freedman » Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:02 am

I want to add this link to the efforts here. I would like to add my vote for panel additions, I like the idea of combo view or seperate panels, makes since.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... on#p255787
wandererfan
Posts: 3070
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby wandererfan » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:18 am

user1234 wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:04 pm
Is it possible to comment this function (get preselection and get coordintes) out? Or where i can comment it out? I thought, this is in the src/GUI/Selection.cpp or src/GUI/SoFCSelection.cpp. But i was not sucessful ..... . I really want to make a testcompile.
These two look like the ones that handle mouse over events & highlighting.

Code: Select all

SoFCSelection::handleEvent(SoHandleEventAction * action)

SoFCUnifiedSelection::handleEvent(SoHandleEventAction * action)
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7049
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby DeepSOIC » Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:20 am

user1234 wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:04 pm
Is it possible to comment this function (get preselection and get coordintes) out?
You can disable preselection in preferences. Edit->Preferences, Display, Colors, untick Enable Preselection Highlighting
user1234
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby user1234 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:19 pm

Hello!
wandererfan wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:18 am
These two look like the ones that handle mouse over events & highlighting.
Thanks, but
DeepSOIC wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:20 am
You can disable preselection in preferences. Edit->Preferences, Display, Colors, untick Enable Preselection Highlighting
this helped! What for a performace boost for assemblies! Extreme!
BoostON.gif
BoostON.gif (555.91 KiB) Viewed 223 times
Before that i had <=0.3 frames per second (do not thrust 100% the yellow display). But now it is absolutly fluent!
But two things.
First, i have seen, that the deactivating of the preselection do not work on all types of Origins (planes and axis). But this is minor relevant.
The second, i need the coordinats for calulations of placements and measurements. It is possible, and a function, that preselcting fires after the mouse or the screen stands for, lets say, 0.250s (or to adjust the time in the Edit, Preferences, Display. Shuld i write a feature request?

Greetings and many many thanks, especially @DeepSOIC!

user1234
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7049
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: (Solved) 0.18 two issues (treeview and zooming peformance)

Postby DeepSOIC » Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:40 pm

It looks like you have very high tessellation accuracy (i.e. low deviation). Consider bumping it down to default values, 0.5% deviation and 28 degrees. See Edit -> Preferences -> PartDesign -> Shape View.
Circles will look noticeably polygonized, but it doesn't affect the underlying accuracy of your model.