'Set colors' settings blown away by subsequent features?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
cad_boeuf
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:59 pm

'Set colors' settings blown away by subsequent features?

Postby cad_boeuf » Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:39 am

Hello,

Enjoying the 'Set colors...' feature of V0.18 but I am finding that I got caught out by something - possibly a 'feature' more than a 'bug', but it might help someone plan their model appropriately so as to avoid issues. It seems that colour settings you apply to a feature will get reset by the application of subsequent features. They're not obscured, as previously coloured entities are reset to the default colour. You can see this in the attached model of a resistor - the colours set for feature 'Resistor body' are reset by the creation of a subsequent element 'Colour code bands'. What this would mean, for instance, is were you to apply a fillet to the 'Colour code bands' feature - boom, your band colours are suppressed as a result.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15252 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 652e1dbdd0fb74f1d3df8034254281df9c24aae6
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
Yageo MFR 25 - Version 2.FCStd
(34.19 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
HarryGeier
Posts: 1212
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: 'Set colors' settings blown away by subsequent features?

Postby HarryGeier » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:34 am

Verified this "Bug" same here with last week 0.18 on Win10/64
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3836
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: 'Set colors' settings blown away by subsequent features?

Postby wandererfan » Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:13 pm

manuelkrause wrote: ping
manuel has be wrestling with colour consistency for a while now on Assembly2Plus.]
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: 'Set colors' settings blown away by subsequent features?

Postby NormandC » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:19 am

This has been known for a long time BTW, since the introduction of the Body container. I'm guessing this is also related to the topological naming issue.

issue #3028