Release of 0.18

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

wmayer wrote: Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:40 pm The thumbnail function uses View3DInventorViewer::imageFromFramebuffer which actually works well for me under Windows and Linux.
The Save picture function uses View3DInventorViewer::savePicture which internally can be controlled with a user parameter to either use:
  1. imageFromFramebuffer
  2. Coin's implementation of the off-screen renderer (SoFCOffscreenRenderer)
  3. FreeCAD's implementation of the off-screen renderer (SoQtOffscreenRenderer) which e.g. supports anti-aliasing. For Qt4 it can also be set to either use FBO or pixel buffers.
I have tried the three implementations.

1) imageFromFramebuffer produces a black image of the required size, no matter which format is used.
2) 'CoinOffscreenRenderer'. I get an exception at:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... .cpp#L1115
3) 'PixelBuffer'

In report window:
QOpenGLFramebufferObject: Framebuffer incomplete attachment.

I have no clue what else to try.
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

looo wrote: Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:50 pm
abdullah wrote: Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:45 pm ('/home/abdullah/github/freecad-build/Ext/PySide/__init__.pyc', '/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/PySide2/__init__.pyc')
Looks good. So there must be another problem. The error-message seems to hide the real issue.
Thanks for checking. If you happen to come across with anything else to try let me know ;)
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20298
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by wmayer »

abdullah wrote: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:49 pm I have no clue what else to try.
The old Coin3d off-screen rendering is independent of the used Qt version. So, if your Qt5 application fails then your Qt4 application fails too.
For this case there are two environment you can set:

Code: Select all

export COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_PBUFFERS=1
export COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_GLX13_PBUFFERS=1
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by NormandC »

abdullah wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:40 pm I see Normand's feedback:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/memberlist ... file&u=202
You linked to my profile rather than my reply, I assume you were thinking about this post? https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p272496

abdullah wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:40 pmAre these the only remaining issues?
No, there's been a few more bugs I never managed to report.

Here's one I assigned you since you worked on the tip symbol: issue #3724
If you don't have time to work on it, it's not a showstopper, but it would be nice to get it fixed for v0.18.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54150
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by chrisb »

The bug getting the most on my nerves is issue #3642. Already with medium complex sketches it takes a considerable amount of time to modify a sketch if deleting of elements or constraints is involved.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

wmayer wrote: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:04 pm
abdullah wrote: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:49 pm I have no clue what else to try.
The old Coin3d off-screen rendering is independent of the used Qt version. So, if your Qt5 application fails then your Qt4 application fails too.
For this case there are two environment you can set:

Code: Select all

export COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_PBUFFERS=1
export COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_GLX13_PBUFFERS=1
Sorry for the late reply.

Thanks for those commands, it did not "fix" the issue but helped debug the thing.

1) Without those lines, the coin3d off-screen rendering will segfault in my computer, regardless of the QT used.
2) With those lines, qt4 works perfectly, qt5 saves a black image of the right size.

:?:
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

NormandC wrote: Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:13 am
abdullah wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:40 pm I see Normand's feedback:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/memberlist ... file&u=202
You linked to my profile rather than my reply, I assume you were thinking about this post? https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p272496

abdullah wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:40 pmAre these the only remaining issues?
No, there's been a few more bugs I never managed to report.

Here's one I assigned you since you worked on the tip symbol: issue #3724
If you don't have time to work on it, it's not a showstopper, but it would be nice to get it fixed for v0.18.
Almost a one liner.
PR:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1843
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

chrisb wrote: Wed Dec 12, 2018 7:45 am The bug getting the most on my nerves is issue #3642. Already with medium complex sketches it takes a considerable amount of time to modify a sketch if deleting of elements or constraints is involved.
PR:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1845

This is not straight-forward (to me). Werner will say if it is ok or not...
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

I have switched to python3/QT5 to be able to use the draft WB:

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15406 +1 (Git)
Build type: DEBUG
Branch: _3642_
Hash: 296471637aaab66f12b1fab4727834a30e3f6d06
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0

Cmake desperately wanted to use python 2.7. If anybody is interested, I tamed cmake like this:

Code: Select all

cmake ../freecadsource/ -DBUILD_QT5=ON -DPYTHON_CONFIG_SUFFIX=".cpython-36m-x86_64-linux-gnu" -DPYTHON_BASENAME=".cpython-36m-x86_64-linux-gnu" -DOCC_INCLUDE_DIR="/usr/include/occt" -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="DEBUG" -DFREECAD_USE_OCCT_VARIANT="Official" -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE="/usr/bin/python3.6"
You have to start from an empty folder. Otherwise you will end up with python 3.6 as executable with python 2.7 libraries, which will fail.
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Post by abdullah »

I tried again the function to save a picture. It complained:

Code: Select all

QOpenGLFramebufferObject: Framebuffer incomplete attachment.
Post Reply