Create and display local coordinate system

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
thuswm
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 11:31 am

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby thuswm » Sat May 26, 2012 9:10 am

Great! I look forward to that!
ollydbg
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby ollydbg » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:04 am

Sorry to bump such an old thread, my question is: What's the status of this feature? Thanks.
ickby
Posts: 2985
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby ickby » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:25 am

Hehe that is a funny read, 2012 the statement for the merge was "in a few weeks", and it actually happend last week :)

It is in master now, but he aware that it is unstable and needs quite some polishing which will take a while.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1101
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby Zolko » Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:02 pm

wmayer wrote:
Wed May 23, 2012 7:39 pm
I'm quite familiar with local coordinate systems too because I'm working also a lot with them.
[...]
In FreeCAD we have so called placements which is a rotation (expressed as a quaternion)
ickby wrote:
Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:25 am
Hehe that is a funny read, 2012 the statement for the merge was "in a few weeks", and it actually happend last week :)
It's 2018 now, any news about this ? In the source code I see the file Base/CoordinateSystem.h with Werner Mayer as author, so probably most of the stuff is already in place. In FreeCAD there is also a command in View/Toggle Axis Cross that allows to display a coordinate system. But I don't see any way to
  • create a coordinate system
  • select the original one
I believe this (being able to create, select and use local coordinate systems) would be the single most needed feature in FreeCAD for many people.
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7829
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby DeepSOIC » Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:40 pm

Zolko wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:02 pm
It's 2018 now, any news about this ?
There are two things available:
1. Containers, such as Body and Part, form local coordinate systems.
2. Lattice2 add-on workbench is to some degree all about local coordinate systems, and arrays of those.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1101
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby Zolko » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:13 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:40 pm
1. Containers, such as Body and Part, form local coordinate systems.
for what I can see, a Body or a Part can — and do — contain exactly 1 coordinate system. What I meant is to have several LCS for any Part. You can trick the system by creating a Body inside a Part, and moving it which also moves its LCS. So for each LCS you could create an empty Body and use only its LCS. Phew. It would be much nicer to actually have LCS as reference, the same way as a Point, Axis or Plane.

Also, the LCS doesn't look like an LCS, visually. What I would expect from an LCS is the same what can be seen in the lower-right corner of the window, or when you click View/Toggle axis cross → THAT is what an LCS is supposed to look like. Unfortunately, it's not selectable, and you can't create another
2. Lattice2 add-on workbench is to some degree all about local coordinate systems, and arrays of those.
to some degree, but not quite
Attachments
FreeCAD_LCS.png
FreeCAD_LCS.png (230.31 KiB) Viewed 677 times
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7829
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby DeepSOIC » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:19 pm

Zolko wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:13 pm
to some degree, but not quite
Please be specific about "not quite" part. What specific thing do you need to do?
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1586
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby saso » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:21 pm

Lattice2 "airplanes" generally are used very much like this LCS, my hope is that once a proper LCS element would be added to FC (I agree it should be in the group of the datum point, line, plane) that Lattice would adopt it instead of the existing "airplanes".

here is a video of placing columns in an civil "assembly" in catia using the positions of the axis system https://youtu.be/3rcNdbPxl-k?t=157

and another two videos showing some use of it in a facade assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hl0IvRceRDo https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4Vlb94BUf0
Last edited by saso on Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:44 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1101
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby Zolko » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:34 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:19 pm
Please be specific about "not quite" part. What specific thing do you need to do?
first thing: visually it's not clear what is the orientation of the paper plane -vs- XYZ axes
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7829
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Create and display local coordinate system

Postby DeepSOIC » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:41 pm

Zolko wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:34 pm
first thing: visually it's not clear what is the orientation of the paper plane -vs- XYZ axes
Just learn it once, and you'll never forget.
https://github.com/DeepSOIC/Lattice2/wi ... ent-marker
I used the paperplane instead of "axis cross" thing for the very reason it's much easier to comprehend than colored axes.