Component mirror?

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Deadhorse
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:37 pm

Component mirror?

Postby Deadhorse » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:22 pm

Is it possible to mirror an assembly component within the assembly?

Also is it possible to measure between two parallel surfaces/planes?
kbwbe
Posts: 957
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Component mirror?

Postby kbwbe » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:21 pm

Deadhorse wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:22 pm
Is it possible to mirror an assembly component within the assembly?
No.
Deadhorse wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:22 pm
Also is it possible to measure between two parallel surfaces/planes?
There are already existing measurement tools in FC. With activated Part WB you find a menu "Measure" in the menubar.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.47e, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
Deadhorse
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:37 pm

Re: Component mirror?

Postby Deadhorse » Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:58 pm

Yes I have seen the existing measure tool but it only seems to go from point to point. Meaning if I measure in between two parallel planes/surfaces I get from point to point, where ever I pick on the surfaces, or a perpendicular measurement between the two, that's what I'm looking for.
Turro75
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Component mirror?

Postby Turro75 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:03 pm

Use the tools circled in red available in part workbench, I manually permanently added them to my toolbar so they are available on all WB (circled in black)
Immagine.png
Immagine.png (76.69 KiB) Viewed 460 times
UR_
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Component mirror?

Postby UR_ » Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:42 pm

Deadhorse wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:58 pm
Meaning if I measure in between two parallel planes/surfaces...
For reference, please see here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24742

Manipulator WB has feature called "Caliper", which provides such measurements.