LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
fbx
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:38 pm

LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby fbx » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Hi,
I discovered that LeadInOutDressup does not work at all for circular paths. What it does depends on the "Style" choice, however it's always badly wrong. That's very unfortunate to me, it's a feature that I would greatly appreciate.

Aside of that, it would be very useful to be able to choose the points where to lead in/out, in order to eliminate tool marks.

I attach a tiny test project file and a window capture, I hope that this will be improved.

Thank you
fbx




OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13976 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at fae0de5)
Hash: fae0de58581694157a97d567c151bdce75d387dc
Python version: 2.7.15
Qt version: 5.11.0
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/Switzerland (en_CH)
Attachments
testfreecadcircle.FCStd
An example project showing the issue
(16.37 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 16.52.21.png
An example of a totally wrong leadIn/LeadOut
Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 16.52.21.png (154.64 KiB) Viewed 625 times
fbx
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby fbx » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:16 am

Bump...

no comments on this? Can't this bug be confirmed?


Thanks
fbx
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby sliptonic » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 pm

fbx wrote:
Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:16 am
Bump...

no comments on this? Can't this bug be confirmed?
The original author of this dressup died a few months ago. I don't use it, myself so I can't say if it's getting any use or attention.
I agree that this functionality is needed. Hopefully someone will step forward to improve it.
routalot
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:40 am

Re: LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby routalot » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:00 pm

Its a pity the developer of the feature is no longer with us,I would like to have had the chance to thank him for the feature.I use Linux and have only been generating toolpaths with Freecad for three weeks and having managed to use tags and a ramp entry,I find it really good.I know its taken a lot of work over a period of time to get to this point and everybody involved deserves our thanks.I can't wait to see what the next release brings.
fbx
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby fbx » Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:56 pm

What you tell me is very unfortunate and sad. I am sorry for the guy and his family.

What is preventing from turning this into a confirmed bug? This is pretty evident IMO.
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: LeadInOutDressup does not work for circles

Postby sliptonic » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:18 pm

fbx wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:56 pm
What is preventing from turning this into a confirmed bug? This is pretty evident IMO.
Nothing preventing it at all. Please add a bug to the tracker along with a good test case.