CfdOF workbench: Getting started

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

CfdOF workbench: Getting started

Postby oliveroxtoby » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:51 pm

The CfdOF workbench aims to help users set up and run CFD analyses using the OpenFOAM® solver (www.openfoam.org, www.openfoam.com).

Please see the Readme file for information on installing the workbench and its dependencies.

Disclaimer:
This offering is not approved or endorsed by OpenCFD Limited, producer and distributor of the OpenFOAM software via www.openfoam.com, and owner of the OPENFOAM® and OpenCFD® trade marks
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Training Material

Postby oliveroxtoby » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:04 pm

The following is a list of known training material:
  • http://opensim.co.za/training.html
    Example test problems consisting of slides to walk you through the set-up process. The starting geometry is provided as well as the FreeCAD macros which reproduce the steps to set up the examples.
  • https://youtu.be/8A9GewANqh8
    A nice beginner's walk-through video created by @makkemal
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Bug reporting

Postby oliveroxtoby » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:10 pm

Please report bugs at the project github page.

Before reporting an issue, please do the following in order to provide sufficient information:

In FreeCAD, go to Edit | Preferences | Output window
and tick all five tick boxes on that panel (Record log messages, Record warnings, Record error messages, Redirect internal Python errors, Redirect internal Python output), and click OK.

Then, click View | Panels and tick Report View as well as Python Console.

Now re-create the error and copy any output and error messages which appear on either the report view or the python console. A screenshot is fine if all the relevant output is shown.

In addition, please go to Help | About FreeCAD and click "Copy to Clipboard" and paste this information into your message.

Of course, we'll be grateful if you are able to fix the bug yourself and issue a pull request at https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF

Thank you!