Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by Kunda1 »

mumme wrote: Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:02 pm Hi!

I found some time during christmas/new year holidays to code. :D

I ported FreeCAD to QWebEngine instead of QWebkit. If you're interested its located here.
https://github.com/mumme74/FreeCAD/tree/qwebengine
Thank you!
This is very generous. I'm still crossing fingers for development to restart on your python debugger. Thanks for all your work.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by triplus »

mumme wrote: Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:25 pm It does however retain support for QWebKit, it is selectable through a CMAKE option.
Configure defaults to QWebKit if Qt is below Qt5.7
Great.
mumme
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 4:52 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by mumme »

Kunda1 wrote: Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:29 pm Thank you!
This is very generous. I'm still crossing fingers for development to restart on your python debugger. Thanks for all your work.
Thanks! Im still hoping to get to that. Although that is probably spanning a bit to much for me as a hobby programmer alone.
My freetime schedule for satisfying that "coding itch" has been and will probably continue to be limited.

Anybody want to jump in and help/drive that project, you're more than welcome! ;)
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by wmayer »

I rebased your branch and open a merge request: issue #3774
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by Kunda1 »

wmayer wrote: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:14 pm I rebased your branch and open a merge request: issue #3774
@wmayer should we then close issue #2868?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by wmayer »

I closed it.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by Kunda1 »

:thumbsup:
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
mumme
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 4:52 pm

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by mumme »

wmayer wrote: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:14 pm I rebased your branch and open a merge request: issue #3774
Thank you!

It obviously needs more testing before merge.
For instance the webkit fallback isn't really tested by me.

Is it still the preferred method to open a merge bug report before all kinks are ironed out?
(Still trying to learn, how to do it right..)
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Removing dependency on QtWebKit

Post by wmayer »

mumme wrote: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:45 am
wmayer wrote: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:14 pm I rebased your branch and open a merge request: issue #3774
Thank you!

It obviously needs more testing before merge.
For instance the webkit fallback isn't really tested by me.

Is it still the preferred method to open a merge bug report before all kinks are ironed out?
(Still trying to learn, how to do it right..)
OK, it's good to know that it requires some testing.

Well, it makes sense to open a PR only then once you think you are done. It doesn't necessarily mean that everything works 100% correctly but that's why we do at least some testing to see if it causes problems.

Btw, since you are on github anyway it's best to make a PR there rather than opening a merge request ticket in mantis. I only did it in mantis because it'll be merged after v0.18 and I don't like to have too many pending requests in the queue.
Post Reply