fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

User avatar
HarryvL
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby HarryvL » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:09 pm

Would that solve sys.path issue? I guess I am a bit hesitant because it would mean a high reliance on (my very poor) git skills to make sure my branch of FC would stay in line with FC development. I burnt my fingers many times.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10806
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby bernd » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:48 pm

HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:09 pm
Would that solve sys.path issue?
I can not promise ...

HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:09 pm
... (my very poor) git skills to ... I burnt my fingers many times.
As I stated don't give up ... Try, try, try and Ask, ask, ask

I have two git repos, one for FreeCAD source code https://github.com/berndhahnebach/FreeCAD_bhb and one for my workbenches ... https://github.com/berndhahnebach/FreeCAD_User_Mod but I do not track any workbench or macro which is used by others ...
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10806
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby bernd » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:50 pm

bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:48 pm
I do not track any workbench or macro which is used by others ...
wait I do ... https://github.com/berndhahnebach/BOLTSFC but this is an own separate git repo.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10806
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby bernd » Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:52 pm

HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:51 pm
I added the location to sys.path, both inside and outside FC, but it makes no difference.
This should work.
User avatar
HarryvL
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby HarryvL » Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:08 pm

bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:52 pm
HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:51 pm
I added the location to sys.path, both inside and outside FC, but it makes no difference.
This should work.
Yes. It works in PyCharm for my test case.
User avatar
HarryvL
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby HarryvL » Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:13 pm

bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:50 pm
bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:48 pm
I do not track any workbench or macro which is used by others ...
wait I do ... https://github.com/berndhahnebach/BOLTSFC but this is an own separate git repo.
Ah ok. That I can manage :)

However my fingers are itching to add functionality to fcFEM (cables, beams, Shells, buckling, etc etc) and for that to become feasible I first want to optimisme speed. So starting a new advententure now (WB) is not really what I want.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10806
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby bernd » Sun Mar 31, 2019 10:32 pm

leave it in your macro folder and track the macro folder. Use gitignore file to only track your fcFEM macro would be a possibility too.
User avatar
HarryvL
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby HarryvL » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:11 am

HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:08 pm
bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:52 pm
HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:51 pm
I added the location to sys.path, both inside and outside FC, but it makes no difference.
This should work.
Yes. It works in PyCharm for my test case.
I think it’s more complicated. The module I am trying to load is a Cython module (.pyx) and not a Python module. PyCharm is set up for this, but FreeCAD not. I need to study this a bit more.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10806
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby bernd » Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:24 am

HarryvL wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:11 am
HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:08 pm
bernd wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 8:52 pm
HarryvL wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 7:51 pm
I added the location to sys.path, both inside and outside FC, but it makes no difference.
This should work.
Yes. It works in PyCharm for my test case.
I think it’s more complicated. The module I am trying to load is a Cython module (.pyx) and not a Python module. PyCharm is set up for this, but FreeCAD not. I need to study this a bit more.
Ahh I never habe never worked with cython modules. You may make a separate topic in developer or python part of the forum about this. There might be more people know about such problems
User avatar
HarryvL
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: fcFEM - FEA from start to finish

Postby HarryvL » Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:44 am

I found the following nice explanation: https://nyu-cds.github.io/python-cython/02-executing/ and will give it a try