MSVC2013 c++11 support

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
saso
Veteran
Posts: 1924
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by saso »

sgrogan wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:18 pm You can try to brute force set all the libboost paths. You only need to set the release ones.
I have set now all those that have been reported as not found and the build is running :)
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/sasobad ... s/23648952 <- seems ok but timed out

But it does not feel as the best solution :roll:
Last edited by saso on Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:30 pm, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by apeltauer »

“FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR” must be a environment variable. You can set it within a batch file, with set FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR=path_to_libpack
User avatar
saso
Veteran
Posts: 1924
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by saso »

apeltauer wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:15 pm “FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR” must be a environment variable. You can set it within a batch file, with set FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR=path_to_libpack
seems to be the same as if I set it for cmake
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/sasobad ... s/23648724
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by apeltauer »

This happens with what version of the Libpack?
User avatar
saso
Veteran
Posts: 1924
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by saso »

apeltauer wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:17 pm This happens with what version of the Libpack?
this one https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/re ... 64_VC15.7z

the issue could be with just properly setting up the appveyor environment, but since appveyor is often timing out on us it probably makes more sense to first try windows builds on travis before spending to much time on fixing and improving this...
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by abdullah »

saso wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:28 pm
apeltauer wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:17 pm This happens with what version of the Libpack?
this one https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/re ... 64_VC15.7z

the issue could be with just properly setting up the appveyor environment, but since appveyor is often timing out on us it probably makes more sense to first try windows builds on travis before spending to much time on fixing and improving this...
I understand that it would be better if it worked without fixed paths. However, is it usable?

Would it be acceptable to use it in its current state, while trying to figure out a better alternative?

You guys are the masters in this. I do not want to rush anybody. Just speak aloud what goes inside my head ;)
User avatar
saso
Veteran
Posts: 1924
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by saso »

abdullah wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:58 am I understand that it would be better if it worked without fixed paths. However, is it usable?

Would it be acceptable to use it in its current state, while trying to figure out a better alternative?

You guys are the masters in this. I do not want to rush anybody. Just speak aloud what goes inside my head ;)
If you make a diff between my last version of the new config and the one we currently use on the master you will see that there is not much difference so in general I think it should be ok, the real problem is that it is timing out. Already our current master builds on appveyor sometimes finish an sometimes not and if I remember right apeltauer mentioned that the newer compilers are even a bit slower :|

current master https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... pveyor.yml
latest cleaned up test https://github.com/sasobadovinac/FreeCA ... pveyor.yml
abdullah
Veteran
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by abdullah »

saso wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:21 pm the real problem is that it is timing out.
Ah! I thought that FreeCAD had extra time and that only when you were running it as yourself it timed out.

I read somewhere about extra time, but maybe it was for Travis... :(
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by apeltauer »

Looking through your appveyor.yml I dont find the line where you set the environment variable for the LibPack?!?

Code: Select all

build_script:
  - cd C:\projects\freecad
  - mkdir build
  - cd build
  - cmake -DFREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs
    -DBoost_FILESYSTEM_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_filesystem-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBoost_PROGRAM_OPTIONS_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_program_options-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBoost_REGEX_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_regex-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBoost_SYSTEM_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_system-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBoost_THREAD_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_thread-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBoost_PYTHON36_LIBRARY_RELEASE=C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\lib\boost_python36-vc141-mt-x64-1_67.lib
    -DBUILD_FEM_NETGEN=OFF
    -DBUILD_QT5=ON
    -G "%generator%" ..
  - mkdir bin
  - xcopy C:\projects\freecad\FreeCADLibs\bin C:\projects\freecad\build\bin /E /Q
  - msbuild /m FreeCAD_Trunk.sln
Also, i think you should add some time stamps. How long does the download of the libpack take? How long does it take to unzip the pack?
All this takes some time, and the build timeout after 60 minutes, see (Time limitations
All plans have 60 minutes quota per build job. https://www.appveyor.com/docs/build-con ... d-pipeline)
Also how many cpu cores are available?
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20302
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: MSVC2013 c++11 support

Post by wmayer »

Looking through your appveyor.yml I dont find the line where you set the environment variable for the LibPack?!?
When you pass the defines for FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR and BUILD_QT5=ON then you actually don't need to set it as environment variable beforehand, do you?
Btw, today I tested cmake 3.14 and when trying to create VS project files it stopped with an error that it couldn't find the C++ compiler. What worked for me is to open a VS2017 x64 terminal window (which sets up all stuff to detect the compiler) and create "Makefile JOM". I handn't any problems finding the boost libs.
Post Reply