Roof trusses

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
johnwang
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Roof trusses

Postby johnwang » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:40 am

Generate a Saw file to cut the timber. Still a long way to go.
David_D
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Roof trusses

Postby David_D » Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:05 pm

johnwang wrote:
Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:40 am
Generate a Saw file to cut the timber. Still a long way to go.
Please, please post the source code, we'd love to see it!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5927
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Roof trusses

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:46 pm

bump
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5927
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Roof trusses

Postby Kunda1 » Fri May 17, 2019 4:12 pm

johnwang wrote:
@johnwang do you mind answering the question below ?
-alex- wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:37 pm
How much time of computation for such kind of model? How about RAM consumption?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
roerich_64
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Roof trusses

Postby roerich_64 » Fri May 17, 2019 7:50 pm

johnwang wrote:
Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:40 am
Generate a Saw file to cut the timber. Still a long way to go.
But you should do it without any 'Metal Parts' You know: Fire ;-)

BR
Walter
(a german room man...)
johnwang
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Roof trusses

Postby johnwang » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:05 am

-alex- wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:37 pm
wow, impressive! How much time of computation for such kind of model? How about RAM consumption?
Sorry for the late reply. Not really know how to answer.

On a old tablet pc:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0

I use ticks2=time.time(), and the program finished in about 30 seconds.But if I try to rotate the model, the mouse icon changed to not ready mode. After about 3 min, I could do rotate, zoom...

How do I check RAM consumption?

Regards
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5927
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Roof trusses

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:11 pm

johnwang wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:05 am
@johnwang Are you planning to share this code?
CC @petit_chat_noir
(Dev for https://github.com/JeromeL63/Wood-Frame)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
johnwang
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Roof trusses

Postby johnwang » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:42 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:11 pm
johnwang wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:05 am
@johnwang Are you planning to share this code?
Sorry, not at the moment. It's just read coordinates from a file and draw boxes. Not really useful if you don't have that data file.

I am trying to make command to generate a truss file and design it with Frame3DD.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Roof trusses

Postby bernd » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:58 pm

johnwang wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:42 pm
[I am trying to make command to generate a truss file and design it with Frame3DD.
Do you use Frame3DD on a daily basis? Have you already used Frame3DD?
johnwang
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Roof trusses

Postby johnwang » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:02 pm

bernd wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:58 pm
Do you use Frame3DD on a daily basis? Have you already used Frame3DD?
[/quote]

I am trying to do my daily work with freecad+frame3dd. To see if it is possible.

Only know frame3dd when reading other threads. Tried one example and modified the code to output gmsh's POS file, so i could View the result with gmsh. I need to generate a truss shape in freecad and generate a frame3dd input file at the same time programly.

I want to see the result with freecad at the end. But not sure which way is easy: Read in frame3dd result or
Let frame3dd write out a file which freecad fea wb could View directly.