OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
freman
Veteran
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by freman »

Hi,

I want to mark out a degree disc, so I thought draft would be the right WB to start in. I drew a circle as the base and then tried to mark a straight horizontal line coming off it, with the intention to rotate this to get the other marks.

Sadly, down at the first hurdle. It can draw a line but if I start the line on the circle it barfs.

Code: Select all

Pick first point
Pick next point
PathCommands.ERROR: Failed to create face from wire
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/svn/freecad19-master-build/Mod/Path/PathCommands.py", line 71, in IsActive
    self.active = self.formsPartOfALoop(sel.Object, sel.SubObjects[0], sel.SubElementNames)
  File "/svn/freecad19-master-build/Mod/Path/PathCommands.py", line 111, in formsPartOfALoop
    if len(names) == 1 and horizontalEdgeLoop(obj, sub):
  File "/svn/freecad19-master-build/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathUtils.py", line 245, in horizontalEdgeLoop
    loops = [w for w in wires if all(PathGeom.isHorizontal(e) for e in w.Edges) and PathGeom.isHorizontal(Part.Face(w))]
OCCError: Failed to create face from wire
This looks like a bug, but maybe I'm missing something and there is reason for this. Can anyone explain?

TIA.
OS: Linux (LXDE/LXDE)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16988 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: ff7975291d33a88e6a8282b88a62dbcbcc01ba2b
Python version: 2.7.15
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by kisolre »

Maybe it should have "create face" set to false before adding this extra line?
User avatar
freman
Veteran
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by freman »

thanks, were do I find that, I don't see that anywhere.
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by kisolre »

Sorry, no idea how to check/access that in python. I just remembered that draft objects have such option.Draft_Rectangle check near the end - "Make face" option
User avatar
freman
Veteran
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by freman »

Thanks, I'm not asking about python, that is just the output from the report window when it fails.

What is this "end" you are referring to ?

EDIT,

Ah , I see you are referring to properties tab in the combo. Yes, the draft-line does have the by default.
Last edited by freman on Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
kisolre
Veteran
Posts: 4166
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by kisolre »

End of that wiki page?!?
User avatar
freman
Veteran
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: OCCError: Failed to create face from wire

Post by freman »

If I select the line in the tree view, no error. If I select on the draft image I get the errors and it shows as selected.

It seems that all this may be spurious "non error" anyway despite all the scary red error messages.

Rotate tool seems equally unfinished and wiki is out of date.
Post Reply