Path workbench and OpenGL Vertex Buffer Object

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Andrea3
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:01 pm

Path workbench and OpenGL Vertex Buffer Object

Postby Andrea3 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:06 pm

Hello all,
I was still doing some trials with Path workbench, but I had some issues with the display of the parts.
When I create a Job, and I have opend the "Job edit" menu, is not possible to refresh the view.
If I try to move and/or rotate the part, everything disappears and I have to close and reload the file in order to see my model another time.
This problem is always present and I can easily repeat it.

I have supposed that this bug could be related to drivers or graphic issue, therefore I've opened "Preferences->Display" and I have seen the option "Use OpenGL Vertex Buffer Object".
With this option active, I don't have anymore any issue.

Somebody can explain to me why?

Thank you

PS: The behaviour described at the beginning should be reported as bug?

PPS: This is my configuration

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
kwahoo
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Path workbench and OpenGL Vertex Buffer Object

Postby kwahoo » Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:23 pm

Andrea3 wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:06 pm
PS: The behaviour described at the beginning should be reported as bug?
Yes, but this can be a bug in the GPU driver too. You should try to reproduce this on a different PC (different GPU).
But, since VBO is the more modern (and faster) than default path, I think you shouldn't worry about it.
Andrea3
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:01 pm

Re: Path workbench and OpenGL Vertex Buffer Object [CLOSED]

Postby Andrea3 » Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:05 pm

Hello,
thank you for the answer.
I've tried on another PC and the issue is not present.
Probably a bug in my video driver.
I keep VBO option active.