Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kevinz
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:58 pm

Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Postby kevinz » Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:07 pm

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release

Hello, thank you for taking the time to read this. I'm new to CAD overall, and brand-new to FreeCAD.

I'm trying to design a part that's triangular in shape. All verticies are filleted with some radius. The baseline is horizontal. How can I set the height of the part to a specific distance from the baseline to a horizontal line tangent to the upper fillet?

Thanks, again, for your thoughts.

-Kevin
kevinz
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:58 pm

Re: Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Postby kevinz » Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:29 pm

Sorry, should have mentioned that I'm trying to do this in the PartDesign Workbench.

-Kevin
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Fri Oct 18, 2019 4:38 pm

there is a mesure tool in every workbench
also there are makros to crap surten points like edges faces and mesure sistances

if it is a filley of part design just open the filley and you see the width
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6061
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Postby bejant » Fri Oct 18, 2019 4:49 pm

kevinz wrote:
Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:07 pm
I'm trying to design a part that's triangular in shape. All verticies are filleted with some radius. The baseline is horizontal. How can I set the height of the part to a specific distance from the baseline to a horizontal line tangent to the upper fillet?
Hi Kevin, and welcome! Because you're using Part Design I think you'd set the height in a Sketch. One way is to create and Constrain a Vertical Construction Line Segment from the center of the top fillet arc to the top of the fillet arc. Then apply a Vertical Distance Constraint from the top Endpoint of that Construction Line Segment to the base.

20191018a.png
20191018a.png (16.84 KiB) Viewed 237 times

20191018a.FCStd
(5.56 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.1.
Build type: Release
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
kevinz
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 2:58 pm

Re: Newbie: How to measure to a fillet?

Postby kevinz » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:15 pm

bejant, thanks so much for your guidance. I forgot about construction lines and how they could be used. I'll use your method to see if I can get it to work. I'm having trouble with some of the simplest things (see my latest post), and if I have any further questions, I'll get back to you.

Thanks, again, for your help.

-Kevin