Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Repman
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:56 am

Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby Repman » Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:11 am

Hi there,
after a discussion in the german forum I was asked to point the following in the international forum. Hope here is the right place and hope you can help me in this issue. Chrisb pointed out that programmer "realthunder" is in charge of programming in the sketcher of 0.19. So, hopefully you can clearify the situation:
Testing the 0.19 since a few weeks I found, that using the placement dialog during an open sketcher task, does not show the result immediatly. Here is the behavior in both versions, 0.18:
phpBB [video]


And here in 0.19:

phpBB [video]


I'm using freecad since 0.13 and the above described behavior seems to be new. Is it a bug ore is it a feature extinction?

The sketch is not attached to anything but the main plane. So change the sketch position should not be a problem.
I think that a change of a value should be shown immediatly, but latest when I press the "recompute" button. In the above mentioned example the result can be seen not before I leave the sketcher task dialog. This is very unhandy in my point of view. Can you make it work again as it was before? Please take that as a feature request, if it is not a bug :-)

Regards Stefan
Last edited by Repman on Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7829
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby DeepSOIC » Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:31 am

I suspect it is indeed realthunder who created this particular problem. It is hopefully really easy to fix this particular behavior. But fixing it if you move a containing Part or Link might be substantially more involved.
chrisb
Posts: 29061
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby chrisb » Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:42 pm

Moved from Open discussion forum.

realthunder is not really in charge of developing the Sketcher, I rather guess that the Big Merge caused this change.
realthunder wrote:ping
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
realthunder
Posts: 1810
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby realthunder » Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:29 pm

PR submitted here
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
chrisb
Posts: 29061
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby chrisb » Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:35 pm

Thanks. I found some similar issues which are hopefully fixed with this PR too.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
Repman
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:56 am

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby Repman » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:18 pm

Sorry for my lack of knowledge, what does that mean "PR submitted"?
Will there be a fix for the problem in an upcoming version?
chrisb
Posts: 29061
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug or Feature in 0.19 Sketcher?

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:51 pm

PR means "Pull Request", i.e. a fix has been submitted and someone with the appropriate rights - usually Werner - has to accept and commit it so it will occur in the next 0.19 version.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.