Problem with negative offset "Placement" in Building US units

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jylandry
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:58 am

Problem with negative offset "Placement" in Building US units

Postby jylandry » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:53 am

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)


I have a problem to create a negative offset in the "Placement" function. This is not major issue... but that force me to work in different unit.

I operate with the unit preference in "Building US(ft-in/sqft/cuft)

In the Placement box --> translation: --> X: -- If I enter -1.5", it seems to work (drawing updated OK)... but when it get converted to fraction, it return -1/2" and the drawing is updated to the wrong value.

Entered-value.png
Entered-value.png (21.13 KiB) Viewed 216 times


Still seem OK when "Apply Axial is click" -- Properly translated in Fraction. (Note: If I enter /// -1+1/2" /// , it create the problem right away at the "Apply Axial Click".


Screenshot_20200125_213305.png
Screenshot_20200125_213305.png (21.17 KiB) Viewed 216 times


Clicking OK -- and then re-entering "Placement" just show the fraction being changed to /// -1/2" ///
Screenshot_20200125_213449.png
Screenshot_20200125_213449.png (21.91 KiB) Viewed 216 times
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3674
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Problem with negative offset "Placement" in Building US units

Postby wandererfan » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:55 pm

jylandry wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:53 am
I have a problem to create a negative offset in the "Placement" function. This is not major issue... but that force me to work in different unit.
Problem is still here in freecad-daily:
OS: Linux Mint 19 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)

Also happens with measurements like -13'6" becoming -12'6".

Glad you posted, I've been trying to figure out what I was doing wrong for a couple of days now.
arcanemachine
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:43 pm

Re: Problem with negative offset "Placement" in Building US units

Postby arcanemachine » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:43 am

I've always had problems with fractional units in FreeCAD (new user though).

I learned to format it as "1 in / 2" (hit the equals (=) button to use an Expression) and I've never had any problems after formatting it that way.

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19239 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 49e4e45ff38b0459f0f9a76df634f6da4995b731
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
jylandry
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:58 am

Re: Problem with negative offset "Placement" in Building US units

Postby jylandry » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:51 am

Seem very similar. Just not sure you cover every cases (To replicate: just create a cube in a new document when in US building).

I also noted an additional problem with the COMBO-view -- Property with 10000 ft.

CASE: -1+1/2" -- If you enter this value in Placement for any object, then look in the combo view-> property: it does display -12.7mm (-1/2 inch). If you re-enter placement, it display -1/2 inch. If you click OK... It still show -12.7mm (-1/2 inch.) So, with this value, the error occur only once.

CASE -10" If you enter -10" in the placement box, it is display as -254mm in combo view->property. And that -10". If you re-enter the placement box. It is still -10" (No problem here)

CASE -10+1/8" If you enter -10+1/8" in the placement box, it is display combo-view property as -250.82mm (-9+7/8")... Re-entering placement display -8+1/8". Clicking OK display 200.02 mm (-7+7/8"). So, error every time IN and OUT. It also seem related to the FRACTION use (The error show with 1/8" fraction).

When you look carefully, it seem an error of interpretation of -10+1/8" -- where it seem interpreted as a formula: -10" + 1/8" = -9"7/8"

CASE -10.125" If you enter -10.125" ... it show correctly in the combo-view-property-placement: -257.8mm (-10+1/8"). When you re-enter the Placement, it does display: -9+7/8" (-250.82mm). so, their is an error when entering the placement box.

If you click OK (without changing anything), you re-enter the same pattern (IN and OUT). 206.38mm (-8+1/8")

CASE: -10'5+3/4" In Placement, if you enter a number -- like -10'5+3/4" that (-3 194.05mm)... if you look at the "mm" displayed in (combo view) "property - Placement" for the object: the value has changed to -2901.95 mm --- that -9'6+1/4". Changing nothing, just re-enter Placement, it display: -8' 5+3/4" (-2 584.45mm)

Again, Changing Nothing, if you click OK, it become: -2292.35 mm (-7'6+1/4") in (combo view) "property - Placement". So, looking at that: Every time you click OK in placement, is does some tampering (in this example, by (+11.5") +292.1mm. Every time you re-enter placement, it does also some tempering by (+12.5") +317.5 mm

CASE -10' This case has no problem: You enter 10'... it remain 10' in Combo-View Property. It also display as 10' if you re-enter placement.

CASE -10'5" You enter 10'5" (3175mm) and it display as 9'7"(2921mm) in combo view-property. When you re-enter placement it show -8'5" (2565.4mm). Then display 2311.4mm( -7'7") in property box.

This time the error is : -254mm (-10") every time you click OK in placement. -355.4mm (-14")

CASE +10000'7" Different problem HERE: 3,048,177.8 mm -- that 10000'7". However, if you look in the Combo-view-property, the conversion display show 10000'7+3/32". When you re-enter the placement panel, everything is fine.

Consequently, this might be or not the same problem. It seem to be a consistent problem with "Fraction" interpretation. It seems also to be a consistent problem with FT'IN" interpretation.