Errors on startup

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Posts: 28122
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Errors on startup

Postby chrisb » Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:45 pm

Just installed a new 0.19. On startup I get the following error message in report view:

Code: Select all

/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/numpy/ma/core.py:4466: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if self.shape is ():
/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/mpmath/ctx_mp_python.py:892: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if other is 0:
/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/mpmath/ctx_mp_python.py:986: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if other is 0:
The previous version used Python3.8 as well and did not show these errors.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19405 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d2b943e8b7d8fe2673a4e20671b6cb0f8180fdbd
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
PMac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby PMac » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:35 pm

Can confirm, as reported above by ChrisB, v0.19.405 fails to start on LinuxMint 19.3.

Partial appimage update from 19.371 to 19.405 completed OK, splash dialog shows and hangs before FC being killed at around 5 minutes.

From GUI and also from terminal - both start ups reach splash screen, appearing to be a normal process and then spend 3-4 mins doing a memory swap with RAM and the HDD till FC crashes.

Previous 0.19.371 version runs OK - details below.

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon2d)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19371 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a226801f1b9cad6ad0f42c3166b9f05266161811
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/New Zealand (en_NZ)
chrisb
Posts: 28122
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Errors on startup

Postby chrisb » Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:38 pm

After these error messages mentioned above I don't see any further issues.
SIXe
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby SIXe » Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:46 am

Can confirm. FreeCAD_0.19-19371-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage did work and after an upgrade to FreeCAD_0.19-19405-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage FC eats up all available RAM and then gets killed by the kernel.

OS: Debian
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby looo » Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:53 pm

chrisb wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:45 pm
Just installed a new 0.19. On startup I get the following error message in report view:

Code: Select all

/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/numpy/ma/core.py:4466: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if self.shape is ():
/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/mpmath/ctx_mp_python.py:892: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if other is 0:
/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/mpmath/ctx_mp_python.py:986: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if other is 0:
The previous version used Python3.8 as well and did not show these errors.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19405 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d2b943e8b7d8fe2673a4e20671b6cb0f8180fdbd
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
As already said in another post, the warnings are not problematic.
PMac wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:35 pm
From GUI and also from terminal - both start ups reach splash screen, appearing to be a normal process and then spend 3-4 mins doing a memory swap with RAM and the HDD till FC crashes.
Can you provide more feedback? Maybe @realthunder can join this discussion. Is there a known problem with asm3 and current master?
SIXe
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby SIXe » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:48 pm

This is the terminal output:

Code: Select all

FreeCAD 0.19, Libs: 0.19R19405 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2020
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##

Loading Assembly4 WorkBench
/tmp/.mount_FreeCA3jlACo/AppRun: line 19: 345679 Killed                  ${HERE}/usr/bin/freecad "$@"
The process is killed after exhausting all available RAM. And these are the last lines of the log:

Code: Select all

...
Log: Init: App::FreeCADInit.py done
Log: Init: Creating Gui::Application and QApplication
Log: Local server 'FreeCAD' started
Log: OpenGL version is: 3.0 (3.0 Mesa 19.3.2)
Log: Run Gui init script
Log: Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script...
Log: Init:   Searching modules...
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/AddonManager... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Arch... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Complete... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Draft... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Drawing... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Fem... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Idf(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Image... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Import... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Inspection... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Material... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Measure(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Mesh... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/MeshPart... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/OpenSCAD... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Part... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/PartDesign... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Path... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Points... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Raytracing... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/ReverseEngineering... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Robot... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Show(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Sketcher... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Spreadsheet... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Start... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Surface... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/TechDraw... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Test... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Tux... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /tmp/.mount_FreeCA38O6Ke/usr/Mod/Web... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /home/marco/.FreeCAD/Mod/BOLTSFC(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Log: Init:      Initializing /home/marco/.FreeCAD/Mod/fasteners... done
Log: Init:      Initializing /home/marco/.FreeCAD/Mod/Assembly4... done
Log: Init: Initializing freecad.asm3
Log: Module: Part
Log: Loading Part module... done
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby vocx » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:38 pm

chrisb wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:45 pm
...

Code: Select all

...
/Users/cb/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.8/site-packages/mpmath/ctx_mp_python.py:986: SyntaxWarning: "is" with a literal. Did you mean "=="?
  if other is 0:
The previous version used Python3.8 as well and did not show these errors.
As looo says, these are not errors, they are warnings. Specifically, these are warnings in the syntax of the programming language.

These warnings do no occur in FreeCAD's code, they occur in Python 3.8's code, inside numpy and mpmath libraries. I don't understand why this would happen. It's like the Python guys wrote something wrong. Maybe this is already corrected in another version of Python 3.8.y.
Last edited by vocx on Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
PMac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby PMac » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:18 pm

From Looo at 03:53 above
Can you provide more feedback?


Will do later this morning with logs etc - spent yesterday afternoon learning how to log faults and run from console - here in NZ we're 12 hours ahead and out of sync with you Europeans. I normally update from AppImage and run via GUI.

In interim - am not running (whilst testing this startup failure) with any addons.

I do not experience errors as noted in this thread but am experiencing freeze / RAM swap / FC lock up as confirmed by SIXe at 12:46 above in this thread. My gut feeling says - I think that there is a memory leak somewhere and that the splash screen stopping at asm3 or Part module is just where the memory swapout starts freezing the display onscreen. I think these may be red herrings.

Also similar to 0.19.19405 startup failure thread as described by Genues at 08:29 on this separate Install thread stops at Part module on splash screen https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 0&start=10.
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby vocx » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:32 pm

PMac wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:18 pm
...
I do not experience errors as noted in this thread but am experiencing freeze / RAM swap / FC lock up as confirmed by SIXe at 12:46 above in this thread. ....
What is going on with this thread? Was this thread split? The first post from chrisb indicates warning messages with Python 3.8, while the second message, yours, talks about memory consumption, hanging up, and crashing. These messages don't seem to be related. Chrisb doesn't experience a crash, so your problem is totally separate and should be addressed in a different thread.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
PMac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: Errors on startup

Postby PMac » Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:07 am

vocx wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:32 pm
PMac wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:18 pm
...
I do not experience errors as noted in this thread but am experiencing freeze / RAM swap / FC lock up as confirmed by SIXe at 12:46 above in this thread. ....
What is going on with this thread? Was this thread split? The first post from chrisb indicates warning messages with Python 3.8, while the second message, yours, talks about memory consumption, hanging up, and crashing. These messages don't seem to be related. Chrisb doesn't experience a crash, so your problem is totally separate and should be addressed in a different thread.
Hi vocx
Looking at the specific ChrisB errors seems I've stuffed up and should have started a new thread. I saw the the "Errors on startup" title and confirmed I too am experiencing 0.19-19405 start-up issues albeit not the exact same errors as ChrisB. Was only trying to help - seems odd that more than one person is experiencing/reporting 19405 startup errors.

If required, can someone please shift my related posts to another thread (maybe even attaching to the one under the Install forum where Genues was posting similar errors - ChrisB had already moved Genues initial post to Install/Compile from Open).

As for the more info requested by Looo I've got my logs ready to post (Same results as SixE) but will refrain from posting those till the location of my 19405 startup errors thread is finalised.