Sweep error: TopoDS shell [Solved]

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Brutha
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Sweep error: TopoDS shell [Solved]

Postby Brutha » Sat Mar 07, 2020 5:00 pm

Hi All,

I'm getting an error when I try and sweep a circle along what I thought was a fairly simple path. It happens when I add the curved edge in the picture below.

Can anyone suggest what the cause might be? System info below and file attached.

Thanks!

Brutha

Screenshot 2020-03-07 at 16.55.59.png
Screenshot 2020-03-07 at 16.55.59.png (29.16 KiB) Viewed 281 times

Code: Select all

OS: macOS Mojave (10.14)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19405 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d2b943e8b7d8fe2673a4e20671b6cb0f8180fdbd
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
Attachments
sweeperror.FCStd
(7.38 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Last edited by Brutha on Sat Mar 07, 2020 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 2551
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Sweep error: TopoDS shell

Postby Roy_043 » Sat Mar 07, 2020 5:44 pm

The attachment of Sketch128 is the problem. Also that sketch is not fully constrained.
Attachments
sweeperror_fix.FCStd
(14.39 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Brutha
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Sweep error: TopoDS shell

Postby Brutha » Sat Mar 07, 2020 6:12 pm

Thanks Roy, will have a play with those settings!
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 3072
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Sweep error: TopoDS shell [Solved]

Postby papyblaise » Sat Mar 07, 2020 6:18 pm

Indeed place the sketch at 465 instead of 466 and all is Ok , because the start of the path is at 465.67, and the handle auto-intersect itself because the angle is less 90°