how to change the load value and load direction

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Stephen3
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:47 am

how to change the load value and load direction

Postby Stephen3 » Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:03 am

Hi there,
Im at a loss, so wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction, As per title, I want to change the load direction.
Let me explain. I ran through the supplied example changed parameters and ran different tests ..Changes the load directions without any problems. So I ran A simple test, I used "sketcher" , constrained and extruded a tube 12x10x300mm then constrained one end, and tried to hang a 10kg weight of the other. everything went well I can run through the example , meshing constraints etc but I cannot change the load direction to 90 degrees from normal. The supplied cantilever beam example works ok but my tube doesn't ,, Have I drawn something wrong? any Ideas ?
Thanks in advance and thank you for all the hard work

Kind Regards Stephen
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10470
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby bernd » Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:15 pm

Hi and welcomee to Freecad FEM. Have you read https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=12212 ?

Would you post the file you have problems with? Do not delete the mesh object but clear it!
Stephen3
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:47 am

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby Stephen3 » Sat Jun 13, 2020 2:44 pm

bernd wrote:
Sat Jun 13, 2020 12:15 pm
Hi and welcomee to Freecad FEM. Have you read https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=12212 ?

Would you post the file you have problems with? Do not delete the mesh object but clear it!
Hi there, all ok with a square pipe lots of fillets, the load direction changes as per Wiki, But with a round shape , bar or pipe, or spring, I dont know how to go about changing the direction.
Sorry its saying the file is too large , even is I compress, I attach a photo , just to give an idea ..
Spring.png
Spring.png (133.05 KiB) Viewed 420 times
Sorry for being trouble !
Kind Regards Stephen
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10470
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby bernd » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:48 am

you need to clear the mesh to make the file size smaller.

If your geometry does not have an edge in the direction you wish to have your load, just draw a edge and use this. This could be done with draft or part primitieves.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby Jee-Bee » Mon Jun 15, 2020 7:54 pm

Maybe it would be some time to archive this with Part Design(axis planes etc) / Sketcher objects too.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10470
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby bernd » Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:24 am

have you tested if it works or not?
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby Jee-Bee » Thu Jul 09, 2020 9:46 am

I tested it with my latest installed version and no the direction option of at least force can't handle partdesign planes nor partdesign axis.
Adding a sketch works. but that's most intesting with PD geometry. when using imported geometry for every iteration all sketches have to be created again.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21514 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 89ddab33f692a9bd739171689f9ab0eb58d64b35
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
If needed i can create a bug so at least is isn't forgotten?
Attachments
pd_fem_test.FCStd
(116.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10470
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby bernd » Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:16 am

Jee-Bee wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 9:46 am
If needed i can create a bug so at least is isn't forgotten?
Since I will not do anything in this regard soon, it really makes sense to fill a bug report. Do not assigne it to me. :oops:
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: how to change the load value and load direction

Postby Jee-Bee » Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:12 pm