Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10695
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:51 pm

added Ysis system to my foundations modell.
thschrader wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:46 pm
BTW: you can use the axis grid as external reference in sketcher.
it is a pitty I did not know about this one.

BTW: IFC does support Axis system and FreeCAD does support the export too. IfcQuery can read it but does not show the characters. BIMVision and BimCollab do read the Axis from FreeCAD IFC without any problems. BlenderBIM not, may be I missed a button. I am in contact with the devs.


opensource_house_struct-engin_06.ifc
(30.08 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
opensource_house_struct-engin_06.FCStd
(118.45 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

Screenshot_20200730_184752.png
Screenshot_20200730_184752.png (68.6 KiB) Viewed 191 times
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:51 pm

thschrader wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:46 pm
Not sure about columns/beam dimension in axis 1.
Used the drawing as approach.
BTW: you can use the axis grid as external reference in sketcher.
columns_beam_axis1_test.ifc
colums_beam_axis1.JPG

dimensional accuracy is nice, but not a top priority here. it is about creating ifc files and exchanging ifc files with the bim mode of operation. if that works, freecad is suitable for professional use. in my opinion it has already been proven.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10695
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:54 pm

thomas-neemann wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:51 pm
thschrader wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:46 pm
Not sure about columns/beam dimension in axis 1.
Used the drawing as approach.
BTW: you can use the axis grid as external reference in sketcher.
columns_beam_axis1_test.ifc
colums_beam_axis1.JPG

dimensional accuracy is nice, but not a top priority here.
But it shows perfectly well where the problems in real world are. Remember the wrong Architecture model and all the extra work. Only if one does model the real exact geometry one will find all problems because one needs to solve all problems to get the geometry one would like to have.

A real world example needs real world geometry at least as exact as possible.

Or may be Thomas S and me we just are structural engineers :D :lol:
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:55 pm

bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:51 pm
ping
opensource_house_struct-engin_06.ifc

works well. import in 0.19 is complete ok.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:03 pm

bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:54 pm


Or may be Thomas S and me we just are structural engineers :D :lol:


I am just a mechanical engineer and have heard that architecture is worked to an accuracy of 1 cm :-)
thschrader
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thschrader » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:19 pm

bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:54 pm
...
Remember the wrong Architecture model and all the extra work.
...
Lets write an additional charge to the architect... :lol:
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10695
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:26 pm

thomas-neemann wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:03 pm
bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:54 pm
Or may be Thomas S and me we just are structural engineers :D :lol:
I am just a mechanical engineer and have heard that architecture is worked to an accuracy of 1 cm :-)
On site for concrete work yes, the model has to be exact. If not you will run into trouble with the CAD.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 10695
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby bernd » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:28 pm

thschrader wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:19 pm
bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:54 pm
...
Remember the wrong Architecture model and all the extra work.
...
Lets write an additional charge to the architect... :lol:
very good idea! I will add coordination work to the bill as well because all use my model as a base instead of the architecture one. :mrgreen:
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby thomas-neemann » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:30 pm

bernd wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:26 pm

....On site for concrete work yes, the model has to be exact. If not you will run into trouble with the CAD.

Yes that's true. mechanical engineering therefore uses assambly 2 3 etc.
i like working with transform move and rotate. if you zoom close enough, you can work with millimeter precision. is that enough?
paullee
Posts: 2616
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Open Source House with Open Source CAD?

Postby paullee » Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:25 pm

Changing the dimensions with Sketch is very easy, model on ArchWB updated. Available information on the pdf is though not very comprehensive, e.g. can't find the windows dispositions and dimensions.

Don't know why the roof subtraction ifc-export fails ?

House_01_OpenSource.FCStd
(466.39 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
House_01_OpenSource.ifc
(55.35 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-10-34.png
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-10-34.png (391.64 KiB) Viewed 115 times
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-11-28.png
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-11-28.png (410.04 KiB) Viewed 115 times
IFC-export with Roof subtraction fails - IFC++
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-08-31.png
Screenshot from 2020-07-31 07-08-31.png (244.59 KiB) Viewed 115 times