[RESOLVED] Path Pocket generating wrong code

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
falviani
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

[RESOLVED] Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby falviani » Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:01 pm

Hi All,

My setup:
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22452 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5abb45f7cfc68eda94568ef92b2cb1d83acd1cb4
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

(built from source 9/15/20 10PM)

Generating code for a simple pocket operation is ignoring the start depth and stepdown values; the initial z-axis value is the finish value. The design is not complex:
PaintCanRackPath.png
PaintCanRackPath.png (69.97 KiB) Viewed 295 times
I believe this is a bug. I've attached the freecad file and the generated gcode (extension changed to .txt so I could attach it) for examination. If I've done something stupid please let me know as soon as possible...

Thanks in advance,
Frank
Attachments
SprayPaintRack_v2.txt
(37.76 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
SprayPaintRack_v2.FCStd
(84.56 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
GeneFC
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby GeneFC » Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:03 pm

I have not yet compiled the latest fixes, but something I noticed in your file is that the "Finish Depth" is set incorrectly. This should be the final step-down value wanted, not the final depth. Usually no more than 0.1 mm or 0.2 mm. In many cases it is just zero.

Gene
falviani
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby falviani » Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:20 pm

Hi Gene,

Thanks for pointing that out :D Once I had the start depth at 0 and the finish depth at 0 I got what I was expecting. Can't see the obvious some times...

-Frank
chrisb
Posts: 28842
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [RESOLVED] Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby chrisb » Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:45 pm

It would be easier if it was named Finish Step Down.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1971
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby sliptonic » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:36 pm

chrisb wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:45 pm
It would be easier if it was named Finish Step Down.
I agree. Please make a feature request so this doesn't get lost
chrisb
Posts: 28842
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [RESOLVED] Path Pocket generating wrong code

Postby chrisb » Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:52 pm

A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.