measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby bambuko » Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:03 pm

jmaustpc wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:44 pm
...Every post has a heading that is a copy of the topic title...
obvious when you know ;) - thank you :idea:
I was looking for some key/button at the top of the post...
The only ones I could see were "report this post" and "reply with quote"
mario52
Posts: 3215
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby mario52 » Tue Oct 20, 2020 5:41 pm

bambuko wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:27 pm
not doing very well so far - no doubt it is just me :oops:
the macro work by 2 point clicked and display the info
measure linear - from datum, origin?
more explanation (or photo example)

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby bambuko » Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:04 pm

mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 5:41 pm
...the macro work by 2 point clicked and display the info...
sorry, didn't explain myself well enough :oops:
What I meant, was that I had two known dimensions.
Z was measuring OK (green circled)
X was leaving me in doubt (red circled)
Image
X should have measured 34.2 (same like Z was measuring 22.5)
instead it was telling me 34.20000076293945
Why?

Plus, you have to remember to turn macro off after doing measurement ;)
I had some strange behaviours when I didn't do it
Macro was trying to measure things while I was doing something else :mrgreen:
My personal preference would be for the macro to be "one shot" and "off"
and fire again when needed again, but this is not a biggie ;)


mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 5:41 pm
measure linear - from datum, origin?
more explanation (or photo example)
Image

In this example I was looking to find a distance between selected model face and XY plane of origin.
This of course only makes sense when both planes are parallel.
mario52
Posts: 3215
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby mario52 » Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:23 pm

hi
bambuko wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:04 pm
X was leaving me in doubt (red circled)
internal
bambuko wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:04 pm
In this example I was looking to find a distance between selected model face and XY plane of origin.
ok (Delta: key and one point clicked)

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby bambuko » Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:59 pm

mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:23 pm
...internal...
Sorry, too cryptic for me :oops:
Do not understand :cry:

mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:23 pm
...ok (Delta: key and one point clicked)...
...sorry again,
what are you telling me?
must be getting late for me ;)
jmaustpc
Posts: 10358
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby jmaustpc » Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:09 pm

bambuko wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:59 pm
Sorry, too cryptic for me
Just a quick note, Mario is very intelligent and does some amazing things, but he is French and has very little understanding of English, so be patient. :)
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby bambuko » Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:35 pm

Oh, I wasn't rushing, just explaining that I am bit slow :mrgreen:
Full respect to Mario and I am very grateful for all the help I am getting here (in particular from Mario).
jmaustpc
Posts: 10358
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby jmaustpc » Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:56 pm

bambuko wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:35 pm
Oh, I wasn't rushing, just explaining that
I didn't mean to imply that you were, I was just saying. :)

Jim
mario52
Posts: 3215
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby mario52 » Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:37 am

hi
bambuko wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:59 pm
mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:23 pm
...internal...
Sorry, too cryptic for me :oops:
Do not understand :cry:
internal calculation or ... there was a discussion on this subject
mario52 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:23 pm
...ok (Delta: key and one point clicked)...
i make it now

@jmaustpc thanks my English is limited by 90% to Google and 10% by my (as this line) (i progress 1 word by month, i have time)

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Postby bambuko » Wed Oct 21, 2020 10:57 am

mario52 wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:37 am
...internal calculation or ... there was a discussion on this subject...
Understand - thank you.
will search for it to learn.

mario52 wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:37 am
...i make it now...
Understand - appreciate your help, as always.
Thank you very much!

mario52 wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:37 am
...my English is limited by 90% to Google and 10% by my (as this line) (i progress 1 word by month, i have time)...
Your English is better than my FreeCAD :lol:
If I have difficulty understanding something,
it is not because of your English,
but because of my lack of knowledge of FreeCAD, Python etc...