Hole dialog discussion

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
RatonLaveur
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:45 am

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby RatonLaveur » Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:34 pm

That's amazing. Thank you so much for your perseverant contribution!

This will definitely help my projects when producing mechanical parts using online jobshops.
chrisb
Posts: 32209
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby chrisb » Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:17 pm

uwestoehr wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 2:56 am
With this PR both will be fixed
Thank you!
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Cyclonit
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby Cyclonit » Tue Dec 01, 2020 6:22 am

In addition to creating 3d models for visualisation of threads there exists another option: Displacement mapping. The performance penalty of creating proper 3d threads can be avoided by applying a displacement texture to the hole and computing the thread on the GPU only.

This would result in these 3 options:

No visualization
+ Best performance
- no hints for threading in 3D view
- threads cannot be used for further operations

Displacement Mapping
+ Good performance
+ visualized threads
- threads cannot be used for further operations

3D Model
+ visualized threads
+ threads can be used for further operations
- bad performance

In any case, the user must be prompted if they want to include threads when they export files to other formats. Otherwise 3d prints might not contain any threads even though they were added in FC.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9848
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Dec 01, 2020 12:36 pm

Is issue #3818 related to this thread + PR ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby uwestoehr » Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:24 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Tue Dec 01, 2020 12:36 pm
Is issue #3818 related to this thread + PR ?
Yes it is and here is the PR to fix/implement this: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/4134
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby Pauvres_honteux » Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:37 pm

Two questions on this "magic hole maker":

Will I be able to make a "negative solid" out of this? The solid being in a body where the body have/gets a negative sign?

Will this "automagically" give thread dimensions in Techdraw when I choose to dimension it?

Both of the above exist and work in "the big french cad-program" run by Lord Woldemort!
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby uwestoehr » Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:39 pm

Pauvres_honteux wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:37 pm
Will I be able to make a "negative solid" out of this? The solid being in a body where the body have/gets a negative sign?
The hole dialog should not do magic, just help users to create norm-conform holes.

I don't know what you mean with a negative solid. Could you add a screenshot of your CAD program to understand it better?

Will this "automagically" give thread dimensions in Techdraw when I choose to dimension it?
Not yet. This is one of THE main missing features in FreeCAD because threaded holes are essential - you need them very often. The problem is that TechDraw only has the info of the body outline. It would be overkill to make real threads into the hole and even then TechDraw would not know what norm was used to create the thread. So we need another solution to give the hole edge for example a tag with the thread info.

Unfortunately I am still a beginner and don't know how that is possible.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby Jee-Bee » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:55 pm

Automatic knowledge of techdraw could only work if techdraw have notion of the used features.
I think that is quite difficult with all different workbenches!!
rynn
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:00 am

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby rynn » Thu Dec 17, 2020 2:29 pm

In the german translation the dialog is too wide, because one translation is too long.
Also the HoleCutType drop-down-box is too narrow to hold the names.
image12.png
image12.png (56.71 KiB) Viewed 327 times
I don’t know ho to handle this type of translation-problem.
The HoleCutType drop-down-problem is fixed in PR 4156
Screenshot_20201217_153056.png
Screenshot_20201217_153056.png (47.46 KiB) Viewed 323 times
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 17089
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Hole dialog discussion

Postby wmayer » Thu Dec 17, 2020 4:14 pm

Additionally git commit 627fea4e2 makes the spin box for the angle of the drill point wider again because with the current size the value is only partially visible.