Curves workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Vincent B
Veteran
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Vincent B »

Variable offset3D of a surface with curves on surface.
Attachments
variable_thickness.FCStd
(489.64 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

OK, that's a nice use case. Great job !
User avatar
Vincent B
Veteran
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Vincent B »

DiscretizeEdge seems have a small bug with circular edge: trying to get 4 vertexes, but only 3 coming up. Probably because the first and last is mixed up?
Attachments
discretize_bug.FCStd
(5.31 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (37.92 KiB) Viewed 2166 times
User avatar
Vincent B
Veteran
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Vincent B »

And Segment Surface seems bugging too when used with discretized curve. Trying to get 4 faces but only 3 are created.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (47.84 KiB) Viewed 2164 times
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

Fixed.
heron
Posts: 307
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:32 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by heron »

When you modify something of Curves wb, the Addon manager tool does not show it, it does not give the option to update. Not a big problem, delete the Curves folder (C:\Users\HK\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Curves) then open FreeCAD, the Addon manager, reinstall and you have the latest Curves WB.

It also happens that when installing manually with Git (https ://github.com/tomate44/CurvesWB.git) the name of the folder created in its path is "CurvesWB". Then when opening FreeCAD, Curves workbench is there, everything works fine. But then open Addon Manager and Curves workbench is not install. If you also install from Addon manager then you have two folders, one is "Curves" and another is "CurvesWB". It is also not a big problem because everything works fine.

I do not know if you were aware of this behavior, I just wanted to report in case it would be good for you.

Cheers!

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.19.2)
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Spanish/Spain (es_ES)
User avatar
Vincent B
Veteran
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Vincent B »

Ok for discretize.
But segment surface still have some troubles with a cylinder:
- surfaces carried out are inverted (sometimes)
- surfaces doesn't follow discretized edge very well (maybe after changing number of descretize points)
- surfaces have bop algo error C0 -> can't use them for offset3D. but not all: the surface poles number change.
...
:o
Attachments
seg_surf.FCStd
(17.23 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (97.36 KiB) Viewed 2013 times
claude78
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 12, 2021 1:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by claude78 »

Chris_G wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 7:18 am Hello,
What result do you get if you type this in the python console ?

Code: Select all

from scipy.optimize import minimize
Also, please post you FreeCAD info.
Do you mean that ive have to open cmd and then start python console? if yes , then when ive input "from scipy.optimize import minimize" ive received this
Traceback (most recent call last);
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'scipy"
Iam using Freecad 0.19.

Thanks for your help
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

claude78
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 12, 2021 1:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by claude78 »

Chris_G wrote: Mon May 17, 2021 12:49 pm No, I mean FreeCAD's python console.
oh ok, then ... this full rep after imput
Python 3.8.6+ (heads/3.8-dirty:a12f459ec2, Nov 5 2020, 12:01:10) [MSC v.1927 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type 'help', 'copyright', 'credits' or 'license' for more information.
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_Workbench',22)
>>> Gui.runCommand('Std_ViewStatusBar',1)
>>> from scipy.optimize import minimize
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\optimize\__init__.py", line 387, in <module>
from .optimize import *
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\optimize\optimize.py", line 36, in <module>
from ._numdiff import approx_derivative
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\optimize\_numdiff.py", line 6, in <module>
from scipy.sparse.linalg import LinearOperator
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\sparse\__init__.py", line 227, in <module>
from .base import *
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\sparse\base.py", line 4, in <module>
from .sputils import (isdense, isscalarlike, isintlike,
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\sparse\sputils.py", line 8, in <module>
from scipy._lib._util import prod
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\lib\site-packages\scipy\_lib\_util.py", line 7, in <module>
from multiprocessing import Pool
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Users\LIS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\retr3d\multiprocessing\__init__.py", line 64, in <module>
from multiprocessing.process import Process, current_process, active_children
File "C:\Program Files\FreeCAD 0.19\bin\Lib\site-packages\shiboken2\files.dir\shibokensupport\__feature__.py", line 142, in _import
return original_import(name, *args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Users\LIS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\retr3d\multiprocessing\process.py", line 262
except SystemExit, e:
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
>>>
Post Reply