the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Post Reply
memfis
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by memfis » Wed Oct 21, 2020 9:31 pm

It does not work. Made a body, on its surface - a sketch with a drawn grid. I can't make a path on the surface otherwise.

What am I doing wrong?
Attachments
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-22 00-31-26.png
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-22 00-31-26.png (229.43 KiB) Viewed 321 times
трафареты3.FCStd
(23.22 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

Steveco
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:19 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by Steveco » Thu Oct 22, 2020 4:07 am

What line are you trying to draw? As far as I can tell, the top of the model object is perfectly flat.

I'm no expert, but what I would do would be to add the result of the desired cut to the original model and then generate a toolpath for that. So the top of the model would have a slot that matches the desired line, with a width that matched the milling tool I intended to use and a depth that matched the desired depth of the finished line.

herbk
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by herbk » Thu Oct 22, 2020 4:54 am

Hi memmfis,

open your file with

OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1 (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma5)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22670 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 12155f4aab09047c5697db0c1b3cf93b02edda03
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)

shows several error messages, so i can't work with it.

If i look at your object tree, i am missing the original sketch fur the lines to mill outside the Job.
If i create a Sketch and create a Job with this Sketch, it is shown inside and outside the Job (because Path creates a copy of it). And i can create a path with it, using the Engrave tool.
Attachments
engrave.jpg
engrave.jpg (37.13 KiB) Viewed 280 times
Gruß Herbert

chrisb
Posts: 28938
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by chrisb » Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:43 am

We don't even know which version memfis uses. Perhaps it is sufficient to upgrade to recent 0.19.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.

memfis
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by memfis » Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:35 am

The task is simple - to cut out a square pattern from plexiglass. Apply a grid line to its surface.
If you draw lines as lines and apply this sketch to the square surface, the expected behavior would be to select lines and choose engrave or edge. However, it does not work.
Yes, there is a limited compromise - you may select diagonals and sides of the square = extra passages that will spoil the edges of the square.
Another compromise is a sketch used for the grid to draw at once as a future stroke of the cutter.

But these are compromises that are not reasonable - we would like the program to allow you to draw a sketch "as is, as it should be" and not to do the work of a milling cutter's wizard.

OS: Arch Linux (GNOME/gnome-xorg)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22756 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ce87f586ee36ffe8ebcdcd3947ced4ab389ae795
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Russian/Russia (ru_RU)

memfis
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by memfis » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:06 am

It goes without saying that I myself in the text editor can (and this is faster than creating a sketch - the trajectory of the cutter movement) by hand draw commands G1..... etc. But we are talking about the development of FC.

chrisb
Posts: 28938
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by chrisb » Thu Oct 22, 2020 12:57 pm

memfis wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:35 am
Another compromise is a sketch used for the grid to draw at once as a future stroke of the cutter.
I wouldn't call this a compromise. I find it quite natural to simply create a job with just the sketch as is and use an operation which moves the mill exactly on the lines. That this operation is called "engraving" shouldn't be an insurmountable hurdle.
Attachments
Snip macro screenshot-408b5b.png
Snip macro screenshot-408b5b.png (7.66 KiB) Viewed 206 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.

Russ4262
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by Russ4262 » Thu Oct 22, 2020 8:13 pm

Hello Memfis,
Since your sketch contains only straight segments, this is possible in version 0.19_pre using the Slot operation. The down side is that you must create an independent operation for each line within the sketch. Using @Herbk and @Chrisb's suggestion of the Engrave operation seems more efficient.

Russell

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22808 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 72eb41b24f12b572d55081042160954b93f4614c
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Attachments
трафареты3.png
трафареты3.png (198.14 KiB) Viewed 156 times

memfis
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: the task is to draw a line on the surface with a milling tool

Post by memfis » Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:32 am

Russ4262 wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 8:13 pm
Hello Memfis,
Since your sketch contains only straight segments, this is possible in version 0.19_pre using the Slot operation. The down side is that you must create an independent operation for each line within the sketch. Using @Herbk and @Chrisb's suggestion of the Engrave operation seems more efficient.

Russell
Of all the previous suggestions, this method (Thank you, Russel) seems to me the best. I solved my problem with my own hands in the g-code editor.

My wife needed (another) stencil to work with the patchwork quilt - time is not waiting, I had to before dinner.

Post Reply