Draft Edit improvements

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
regis
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by regis » Mon May 25, 2020 2:28 pm

carlopav wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 9:59 am
chrisb wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 10:45 pm
A very common way to delete something is to use the dedicated "Del" key.
Here is a little attempt... It works, and it's really intuitive BUT : :oops: if an object is selected, FreeCAD catch the DEL key pressed and delete it... I have to check how the sketcher handle this... Any hints?
iilyN28bur.gif
Good stuffs Carlopav, I'm liking it's simplicity already.

carlopav
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by carlopav » Mon May 25, 2020 8:44 pm

Small update: with PR: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3503, we can now edit Part::Sphere, Part::Cone, Part::Cylinder with Draft_Edit!
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design

triplus
Posts: 9464
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by triplus » Tue May 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Nice!

carlopav
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by carlopav » Tue May 26, 2020 8:59 pm

:D
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design

User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by Pauvres_honteux » Wed May 27, 2020 1:25 pm

carlopav wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 9:59 am
Here is a little attempt... It works, and it's really intuitive BUT : :oops: if an object is selected, FreeCAD catch the DEL key pressed and delete it... I have to check how the sketcher handle this... Any hints?
iilyN28bur.gif
Sorry for being late to the party (as usual...)

Code: Select all

OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1 (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/default)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
When first creating points, then creating "wire" I can get the "wire" to snap to the points but the "wire" does not stick to the created points!
Please create the wire creation tool in such a way it asks the user for a plane to attach it to, first. I do understand your focus and effort is aimed to/for architectural design, but in my opinion this is just a special case of a general "wire"/polyline. The general case, of course being 3D, not only 2D.

I'd rather suggest to create a poly-line tool which as a default asks for already created points.
For the special case of architectural AND if the user so wish he/she first click on the wished for plane then just clicks roughly where he/she wants the points to be. Alternatively you can make your poly-line tool to suggest to put ALL points on the last used plane, when in workbench architectural. When used in any other workbench it default to no plane at all.
carlopav wrote:
was that just gibberish to you or did anything of it make any sense?

carlopav
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by carlopav » Wed May 27, 2020 2:11 pm

I think this should be a different object, which points will not be listed as vectors, but as sublinks. Alternatively the draft wire could have 2 different modes, but that object is already full of different options and I have some doubt on adding another one cause it could increase complexity...
So it should be feasible, but it's not exactly the workflow of draft workbench...
Don't know what other Dev and user of draft think about that... I'd be curious to know.
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design

User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by Pauvres_honteux » Wed May 27, 2020 2:35 pm

May I ask what the rational is behind having different GUI:s / tools for 2D versus 3D ?
In my opinion the user will have less stuff to learn and the programmer will have less GUI to maintain with one GUI.
I mean whatever you have in mind, you can incorporate it in the same GUI as the GUI for 3D. The only difference being what is preselected. Which you can determine via the the active workbench.

My point of view is that the architectural workbench is just a special case of general 3D CAD.

carlopav
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by carlopav » Wed May 27, 2020 3:21 pm

Maybe I didn't understand what you were asking. Draft tools are all 3d. The polyline (draft wire) flatten modified points on editing only if it represents a filled face. Perhaps you should check the draft working plane behaviour.
I was commenting on linking polyline points to pre-existing points. It is really different than having a vector list, from the object point of view.
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design

User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by Pauvres_honteux » Wed May 27, 2020 4:43 pm

Hmm, how about these pictures?
.
Point_line_plane_in_PartDesign.png
Point_line_plane_in_PartDesign.png (64.55 KiB) Viewed 210 times
With PartDesign one can create almost anything (work is needed), including points on a plane. And the points stick to the plane when anything changes. From the points one can create polylines which in turn stays connected to the previously created points, i.e. the polyline is what I call parametric and connected.
.
.
.
Point_plane_point_in_Draft.png
Point_plane_point_in_Draft.png (75.4 KiB) Viewed 210 times
.
With Draft one can not create a plane with less then resorting to Part. Here created by first defining three points, then creating the plane by connecting it to the three points. Then switching to Draft workbench where it is now possible to set the working plane to the previously created plane. On this Draft work-plane you can now create a point which automatically end up on the working plane. But the point does not stay connected to the working plane.

Did this make it any clearer?

Repeating my previous stand point: one GUI for anything to do with polyline. It will work for every possible work situation. You may dim / lock the options not suitable when a plane is chosen. You may for example sort different work scenarios under different tabs and lock them as you see fit.

carlopav
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: Draft Edit improvements

Post by carlopav » Wed May 27, 2020 6:45 pm

Still not sure I get it. (Can you open a new topic? this one is dedicated to Draft_edit).
Anyway you can use Part_Attachment to attach every single Draft Objects to a plane... Just click on the MapMode property of the Wire object... is this?
About the possibility to stick wire vertexes to other objects, I'm still skeptic, waiting for other people thoughts on that.
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design

Post Reply