convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
spilz
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:27 am

convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by spilz » Tue May 08, 2018 5:38 am

hello
i would like to modify the stl file attached before print it to make it stronger for my son
- I selected Part
- I selected Creat form from a mesh --> 0.1
- I select the object created
but when I clic on convert to solid nothing happen :(

can you help me please

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
motos_para_a_eternidade.stl
moto stl file
(646.86 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

chrisb
Posts: 27856
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 6:03 am

1) Part->Create shape from mesh
2) Part->Convert to solid

spilz
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:27 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by spilz » Tue May 08, 2018 2:29 pm

it's what I did,
(as my freecad is in french, i translated wrong "Create shape from mesh")

but it doesn't creat a new solid

does it for you ?

schupin
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:43 pm

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by schupin » Tue May 08, 2018 2:43 pm

On my old laptop (macbook air 2011), freecad crashes while converting into a solid.

Either the geometry is too complex or my computer is too tired ;)

chrisb
Posts: 27856
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 3:18 pm

spilz wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 2:29 pm
but it doesn't creat a new solid

does it for you ?
Yes, it does. I tried to continue with a boolean cut and it worked too.

@spilz: please update to the most recent 0.17 version.
@schupin: Macbook Air 2014, High Sierra, 8GB

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13651 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 4604bd9)
Hash: 4604bd9456688e6108b1b5f1a0dcc7f8d205555f
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 5.10.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)

schupin
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:43 pm

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by schupin » Tue May 08, 2018 3:34 pm

chrisb wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 3:18 pm
@schupin: Macbook Air 2014, High Sierra, 8GB
No doubt I have to update my stuff :D

By the way, I tried again the conversion of the .stl file. Freecad did not crash this time but I've got a failure message while I convert into a solid :
The mesh data structure has some defects
Cannot convert motos_para_a_eternidade001 because Shape is not a shell.

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13519 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 1a8b868)
Hash: 1a8b868018f45ea486c0023fdbfeb06febc1fb89
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 5.10.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)

Funny you succeed with your 0.18

chrisb
Posts: 27856
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 3:55 pm

I'm sorry, I was wrong.
I tried again and realized, that converting to solid in fact fails. The cut I had done before works anyway but on the shell only. So you have to repair the mesh before conversion.

spilz
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:27 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by spilz » Tue May 08, 2018 5:28 pm

thanks for your replyes
i update freecad to 0.17, same result

i understand that the issue is from the file,
how can i repair the mesh ? (it is a file downloaded on the internet, so i have only this :(
thanks for your help

chrisb
Posts: 27856
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by chrisb » Tue May 08, 2018 8:44 pm

spilz wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 5:28 pm
how can i repair the mesh ?
I am no mesh expert, but I clicked through the Mesh->AnalyzeAndRepair buttons, to no avail.

User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6083
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: convert to solid doesn't work :(

Post by sgrogan » Tue May 08, 2018 9:11 pm

spilz wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 5:28 pm
how can i repair the mesh ?
FreeCAD's mesh repair tools are rudimentary, FreeCAD is a BREP modeller primarily.
meshlab is a possibility.
I can try to wash this through Ansys tomorrow.
"fight the good fight"

Post Reply