How to place a pad?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
PelegS
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:21 am

How to place a pad?

Post by PelegS » Fri May 03, 2019 12:50 pm

Hello,
I couldn't figure out how do I place a pad at a specific place.
Regarding the attached screenshot, I wanted to move the highlight pad in the x axis. I've also tried to create a new body to sketch this pad in, but couldn't create an edge link in the sketch, to the exiting body sketches.
I've also attached the FreeCAD project.
Thanks
Attachments
how-to-move-pad.png
how-to-move-pad.png (109.04 KiB) Viewed 454 times
c13-power-splitter.fcstd
(44.98 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

openBrain
Posts: 2166
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by openBrain » Fri May 03, 2019 1:34 pm

Actually you have to move the sketch accordingly, not the pad. A good way is to select the sketch in the treeview then modify its placement property.
IIRC the Z axis is always normal to sketch. ;)

chrisb
Posts: 18898
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by chrisb » Fri May 03, 2019 4:01 pm

The image suggests that you should not move the sketch directly, but rather change its attachment.

This might be a bit tricky:
It is intriguing to attach the sketch to the appropriate face.
However this is not recommended, because you loose stability in terms of topological naming issues.

A proper way would be to attach a DatumPlane to Sketch, and then place Sketch003 on that DatumPlane.

PelegS
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:21 am

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by PelegS » Sat May 04, 2019 4:01 pm

Thanks openBrain and chrisb,
openBrain wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 1:34 pm
Actually you have to move the sketch accordingly, not the pad. A good way is to select the sketch in the treeview then modify its placement property.
IIRC the Z axis is always normal to sketch. ;)
I've tried that, Placement -> Position -> x can't be changed (see screenshot)
chrisb wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 4:01 pm
A proper way would be to attach a DatumPlane to Sketch, and then place Sketch003 on that DatumPlane.
I didn't found how to set the DatumPlane x offset (see screenshot)
Attachments
how-to-position-plane.png
how-to-position-plane.png (51.32 KiB) Viewed 395 times
pad-placement-problem.png
pad-placement-problem.png (28.2 KiB) Viewed 395 times

kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by kisolre » Sat May 04, 2019 4:13 pm

If there is ATTACHMENT the PLACEMENT is derived from that. So you need to change attachments offsets (position x,y,z, axs, angle).

User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by NormandC » Sat May 04, 2019 4:16 pm

  1. Select the Sketch
  2. Switch to the Data tab
  3. Select the "Map Mode" or "FlatFace" field
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_01.png
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_01.png (23.82 KiB) Viewed 385 times
  4. Press the [...] button that appears
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_02.png
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_02.png (17.45 KiB) Viewed 385 times
  5. Set the Attachment Offset values
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_03.png
    FC_Sketch_Attachment_03.png (71.37 KiB) Viewed 385 times

PelegS
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:21 am

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by PelegS » Sat May 04, 2019 6:13 pm

Thanks kisolre and NormandC!

That worked, because I changed the Z axis value, in contrast to the previous attempt, which I changed the X axis :? . I understand now that the attachment offset axis are relative to the sketch and not absolute, that’s a bit confusing.

kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by kisolre » Sat May 04, 2019 6:46 pm

PelegS wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 6:13 pm
relative to the sketch and not absolute, that’s a bit confusing.
Imagine the sketch as an actual drawing on a paper - X is left-right, Y is bottom-top, Z is up from the sheet towards you.

PelegS
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:21 am

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by PelegS » Sat May 04, 2019 7:59 pm

kisolre wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 6:46 pm
PelegS wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 6:13 pm
relative to the sketch and not absolute, that’s a bit confusing.
Imagine the sketch as an actual drawing on a paper - X is left-right, Y is bottom-top, Z is up from the sheet towards you.
Yes, I assumed a single axis system, Its clear now. Thanks.

chrisb
Posts: 18898
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How to place a pad?

Post by chrisb » Sun May 05, 2019 10:47 am

I had another look at this model, and have some comments:

- Your Sketch contains redundancies: symmetry implies here the horizontal constraints. Usually you should remove the latter.
- I attached a DatumPlane to the sketch at the appropriate edge, this makes the offset obsolete
- I had to move the sketch to be aligned with the box again - and now you have to delete the symmetry anyway.
- I reversed the Pad in the attached example, that may be wrong.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-05 um 12.45.46.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-05 um 12.45.46.png (15.68 KiB) Viewed 306 times
Attachments
c13-power-splitter_cb.fcstd
(34.27 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

Post Reply