FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
alexefu73
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:35 am

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alexefu73 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:41 am

vocx wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:58 am
alexefu73 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:33 am
Yes I tried running it ...
Exactly what did you type to try running it?

Exactly.
Here I typed:
sudo ./FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage

And the same message appear:

[sudo] password for khalid_lol:
open dir error: No such file or directory

User avatar
looo
Posts: 3301
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by looo » Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:58 am

alexefu73 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:41 am
open dir error: No such file or directory
This is a known issue, but most likely not the issue why the appimage doesn't work in your case. Is there no other information available?

alexefu73
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:35 am

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alexefu73 » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:16 am

looo wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 9:58 am
alexefu73 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:41 am
open dir error: No such file or directory
This is a known issue, but most likely not the issue why the appimage doesn't work in your case. Is there no other information available?
No, there is nothing else, just this message.. :|

vocx
Posts: 4073
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by vocx » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:24 pm

alexefu73 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:39 am
open dir error: No such file or directory
This sounds like the file is not executable.

Assuming you downloaded the file to the Downloads folder, it should have regular user permissions. You don't need root for things like this.

Code: Select all

cd Downloads
chmod a+x FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
./FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.

chrisb
Posts: 24392
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by chrisb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:24 pm

vocx wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:24 pm
This sounds like the file is not executable.
If I try to execute a non executable file on Linux I get the message "Permission denied" rather than the message from OP.

alexefu73
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:35 am

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alexefu73 » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:10 am

vocx wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:24 pm
alexefu73 wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:39 am
open dir error: No such file or directory
This sounds like the file is not executable.

Assuming you downloaded the file to the Downloads folder, it should have regular user permissions. You don't need root for things like this.

Code: Select all

cd Downloads
chmod a+x FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
./FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
Indeed, it's already executable, I made it executable befor try to run it. And the same message appear.. :|

alberich
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:09 pm
Location: Texas

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alberich » Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:38 am

Code: Select all

FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
I don't see any linux appimage with Py3Qt5 in the name on the downloads page. Py3Qt5 only appears in the Win appimages. Are you sure you have typed the name correctly?

User avatar
looo
Posts: 3301
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by looo » Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:10 am

alberich wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:38 am
I don't see any linux appimage with Py3Qt5 in the name on the downloads page. Py3Qt5 only appears in the Win appimages. Are you sure you have typed the name correctly?
We removed PY3QT5 from the 0.19 appimage name. The 0.18 appimage still has this additional naming.

Maybe it's possible to run get a crash report with gdb?

alberich
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:09 pm
Location: Texas

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alberich » Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:17 am

Code: Select all

We removed PY3QT5 from the 0.19 appimage name. The 0.18 appimage still has this additional naming.
Sorry. I read it as 0.19. I guess I need a bigger font...
:oops:

in any case, the error msg is file not found rather than no permission so there must be something wrong with OP's filename/path/directory.

I launch the appimage with a mouse double click. Perhaps OP can report on what that does.

alexefu73
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:35 am

Re: FreeCAD.appimage not run

Post by alexefu73 » Tue Feb 25, 2020 12:07 pm

looo wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:10 am
alberich wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:38 am
I don't see any linux appimage with Py3Qt5 in the name on the downloads page. Py3Qt5 only appears in the Win appimages. Are you sure you have typed the name correctly?
We removed PY3QT5 from the 0.19 appimage name. The 0.18 appimage still has this additional naming.

Maybe it's possible to run get a crash report with gdb?
I'll try to use gdb with it. Then send the report.. thank you. :|

Post Reply