Page 4 of 15

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 2:09 pm
by Kunda1
@triplus has released Glass WB which adds a transparency to the sidebars now. It's far from @ickby's achievement but nevertheless a strong step in the right direction.

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:41 pm
by Kunda1
Obligatory new years 'bump' to this post. :D

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:33 am
by regis
Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:41 pm
Obligatory new years 'bump' to this post. :D
Totally agree. Can this be done in python aswell?

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:15 am
by ickby
Can this be done in python aswell?
The way I did implement it not, it needed some changes in the c++ code. However, triplus did some good work which back then was not possible with qt4. So I have no clue how far he can get. Maybe now it is possible to achieve all I did with python only, just in annother way of implementing it.

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:19 pm
by regis
ickby wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:15 am
Can this be done in python aswell?
The way I did implement it not, it needed some changes in the c++ code. However, triplus did some good work which back then was not possible with qt4. So I have no clue how far he can get. Maybe now it is possible to achieve all I did with python only, just in annother way of implementing it.
Ok is there some type of visual software that allows you to create such user interface graphically instead of programmatically?

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:29 pm
by yorik
regis wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:19 pm
Ok is there some type of visual software that allows you to create such user interface graphically instead of programmatically?
QDesigner (on windows I think it's part of QCreator, on linux you can get it standalone)

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:50 am
by ickby
regis wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:19 pm
Ok is there some type of visual software that allows you to create such user interface graphically instead of programmatically?
I used qt's QML language to build the UI, except of curse the panels, wich have been the default freecad ones. But the layout engine, the dragging etc, was done in qml:
http://doc.qt.io/qtcreator/creator-usin ... igner.html

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:41 am
by regis
thanks all,
first look at qt designer, lots of botton to figure out, hehe :D :D

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:31 pm
by yorik
Bascially you create a new widget or dialog (dialogs are meant to be standalone, while widgets are meant to be inserted in another panel), then you add controls to it (push buttons, texts or images (labels), line edit fields, etc...). You have several tools like groups, layouts and separators to help organize things better.

So for example you would want to create a new window tool. You would think of what information the user needs to provide, then you would create a dialog that makes it clear for the user how to proceed.

The next step is to make the code that gets executed when the user presses buttons, etc... But that's for later.

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:59 pm
by regis
yorik wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:31 pm
Bascially you create a new widget or dialog (dialogs are meant to be standalone, while widgets are meant to be inserted in another panel), then you add controls to it (push buttons, texts or images (labels), line edit fields, etc...). You have several tools like groups, layouts and separators to help organize things better.

So for example you would want to create a new window tool. You would think of what information the user needs to provide, then you would create a dialog that makes it clear for the user how to proceed.

The next step is to make the code that gets executed when the user presses buttons, etc... But that's for later.
Thanks for the startup tip, Does it allow me to create these kinds of windows aswell?