Page 15 of 18

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:10 pm
by sgrogan
UR_ wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:08 pm
Are there any additional "tweaks" necessary?
I still don't understand why, but you can "brute force it" like here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p299534

Do you have a system installed boost? I think you have a Conda one?

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:20 pm
by sgrogan
apeltauer wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:01 am
Perfect!
@apeltauer, do you have time to try to build the python bindings of https://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib
I'm failing miserably. CMake won't let go of my conda python and when trying to build using conda libs I get bunches of unresolved external symbols.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:25 pm
by apeltauer
Maybe I find some time next week...

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:27 pm
by UR_
sgrogan wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:10 pm
I think you have a Conda one?
Yes, thats true. The Conda build works like expected.
I'm trying the build based on new libpack 12.1.2 with VS2017.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:31 pm
by sgrogan
UR_ wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:27 pm
Yes, thats true. The Conda build works like expected.
I'm trying the build based on new libpack 12.1.2 with VS2017.
In CMake watch what's linked. I've had problems with using the new libpack, some conda stuff is auto-detected and this destroys the config. If I set all the flags with a clean cmake cache, it works, if I run config again conda stuff creeps in.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 11:45 am
by tyszja
Hi.
I'm not sure if this is related but my VS2019 needs Boost's exceptions lib and fails at linkage. Is there anything I can do about it? It seems that there is no boost_exceptions_vc....lib in the FreeCADLibs12.1.2 /lib/ folder or did I misconfigured something?

Code: Select all

unresolved external symbol "void __cdecl boost::throw_exception(class std::exception const &)"
It's like ~200 link errors all over the place.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 1:02 pm
by wmayer
Are all your linking errors of the same type, i.e. that boost::throw_exception or are they different? Maybe you should open a new thread and post all your error messages there.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 4:46 pm
by tyszja
wmayer wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 1:02 pm
Are all your linking errors of the same type, i.e. that boost::throw_exception or are they different? Maybe you should open a new thread and post all your error messages there.
I might do that although they all seem to be the same as pasted above so I thought I'll ask about it here first. BTW: I'm strugling to set up the build system on Windows for days now, while on Linux it was a matter of minutes... there must be something wrong with me but every time I want to do some serious work or get productive on Windows it fights me back. I guess I'm incompatible with it... or just prejudiced. ;) Thanks anyway.

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:49 pm
by zach
wmayer wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:02 am
set PATH=PATH_TO_THE_LIBPACK\bin;%PATH%
start FreeCAD.exe --write-log %1 %2 %3
I stopped using Visual Studio some years ago and switched to QtCreator as IDE but IIRC you can also define a .bat file as program in Visual Studio.
I set up a batch file like this but for some reason it failed to find the correct file locations. When running the batch file I receive this error message:

Image

I have FreeCAD built in this directory:

Code: Select all

D:\Storage\Work\FreeCAD\Build2\bin
The batch file is in that directory as well.

Here is my batch file:

Code: Select all

set PATH=D:\Storage\Work\FreeCAD\FreeCADLibs_12.1.2_x64_VC15\bin;%PATH%
start FreeCAD.exe --write-log %1 %2 %3 

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:19 pm
by wmayer
Does your libpack have the file python36.zip as shown in the error message?