Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by apeltauer » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:47 pm

wmayer wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:31 pm
You are totally right with the duplicated code. I just dont know what the manifest contains and how it was build.
I don't know but it may suffice to create a dummy file with this name. AFAIK inside the cmake file it's only tested for the existence of the files but not its content.
Ok, perfect! I will use a dummy file and make my changes in the clbundler....

User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by apeltauer » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:01 am

Update:

Changed back the cmake files. Now i am using the clbundler cmake file again.
I added the possibility to add a LipPackVersion.txt to the libpack itself to handle different versions. The cmake file reads the version to a variable if the file is present.

Code: Select all

if(EXISTS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/LipPackVersion.txt)
  file (STRINGS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/LipPackVersion.txt LIBPACK_VERSION)
  MESSAGE(STATUS "Lib pack version: ${LIBPACK_VERSION}")
endif()
Then using it like this:

Code: Select all

if( ${LIBPACK_VERSION} VERSION_EQUAL "12.1.1" )
  set(PCL_INCLUDE_DIRS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/include/pcl-1.9)
else()
  set(PCL_INCLUDE_DIRS ${FREECAD_LIBPACK_DIR}/include/pcl-1.7)
endif()
Code can be found here (https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/2040)

BTW: in the main cmake file i added this line:

Code: Select all

        # FIXME: --> for now disable fem
        SET(BUILD_SMESH OFF)
        SET(BUILD_FEM OFF)
        SET(BUILD_FEM_NETGEN OFF)
--> so for now FEM is not builded....

User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by apeltauer » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:08 am

Still the problem with the QtWebenging (Webpage/Startpage). After i merged (https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1937) this, it still does not work. I will always get a access violation.
The SSL files are in the libpack, but not in the bin folder. They are in bin/DLLs. But i just tried to have them in the bin folder, same crash.
Can someone have a look over this?

wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16862
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by wmayer » Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:09 am

apeltauer wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:08 am
Still the problem with the QtWebenging (Webpage/Startpage). After i merged (https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1937) this, it still does not work. I will always get a access violation.
The SSL files are in the libpack, but not in the bin folder. They are in bin/DLLs. But i just tried to have them in the bin folder, same crash.
Can someone have a look over this?
But do you get a callstack with your debug libs when the QtWebEngine stuff crashes? Btw, there must still be a way to get QtWebkit for Qt5. The conda builds include the files Qt5WebKit.dll and Qt5WebKitWidgets.dll and also on Debian based system you get a Qt5 webkit package. I just don't know where to get the sources from since the official Qt source tarball doesn't include them.

User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by sgrogan » Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:05 am

wmayer wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:09 am
I just don't know where to get the sources from since the official Qt source tarball doesn't include them.
I think it is here https://github.com/qt/qtwebkit, and it's a typo in the branch name.
"fight the good fight"

wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16862
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by wmayer » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:27 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:05 am
wmayer wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:09 am
I just don't know where to get the sources from since the official Qt source tarball doesn't include them.
I think it is here https://github.com/qt/qtwebkit, and it's a typo in the branch name.
Thinks for the link. It seems that it can use it with my old Qt5.6 build, too.

User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by sgrogan » Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:02 pm

apeltauer wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:01 am
Code: Select all

# FIXME: --> for now disable fem
SET(BUILD_SMESH OFF)
SET(BUILD_FEM OFF)
SET(BUILD_FEM_NETGEN OFF)

--> so for now FEM is not builded....
I could try to link against external SMESH with the Conda SMESH? Would this offer anything?
"fight the good fight"

User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by apeltauer » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:38 am

You can try. I think better then nothing...
I have to get my automation build pipeline back to work with the new Libpack, then I can try to get FEM back to work...
Btw. I think compiling fc with VS2017 takes longer then with VS2013?!?

wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16862
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by wmayer » Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:45 pm

From your GH fork I downloaded the file FreeCAD-LibPack_12.1.1.zip. However, it doesn't seem to be a valid zip file. So what kind of file should this be and what content does it have?

User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Building Libs for Windows Debug Version with VS2017/Qt5.12

Post by sgrogan » Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:57 pm

wmayer wrote:
Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:45 pm
From your GH fork I downloaded the file FreeCAD-LibPack_12.1.1.zip. However, it doesn't seem to be a valid zip file. So what kind of file should this be and what content does it have?
The libpack is here: https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/releases
"fight the good fight"

Post Reply