Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

Post Reply
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5915
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by Kunda1 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:19 am

regis wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:45 am
Any link? Qt5 is not in the software manager by defaults\ as qt4. So I tend to be skeptical already when I see you must purchase anything on their website.
What platform/distro + version number are you running ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features

User avatar
kkremitzki
Posts: 1793
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by kkremitzki » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:37 am

regis wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:45 am
Any link? Qt5 is not in the software manager by defaults\ as qt4. So I tend to be skeptical already when I see you must purchase anything on their website.
I'm not 100% sure I follow you but just to jump in here, I think you might be wanting sudo apt install qt5-default.
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.

User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by regis » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:22 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:19 am
What platform/distro + version number are you running ?
OS: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15592 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a7c0f4bc5b62ec304a5855796ca3d10a42c7a46e
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)


Okay I think i installed it already from software manager,
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-12-08.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-12-08.png (51.65 KiB) Viewed 551 times
Anything else I might need from here?
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-14-47.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-14-47.png (71.8 KiB) Viewed 551 times
qt4 looks more complete and fairly straight forward. What is the file extension of qt5 in the folders?
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-15-53.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 00-15-53.png (69.78 KiB) Viewed 551 times
Generally when something installs well, you get to see it here the in start menu, but qt5 is no where to befound.
Menu_008.png
Menu_008.png (118.1 KiB) Viewed 551 times

ickby
Posts: 2927
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by ickby » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:41 am

I did use qt's qml language to build the UI, you can find everything here:
https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_sf_mas ... rc/Gui/Qml

Some stuff is done on the c++ side, like splitting property dialog from the combo view or exposing all freecad panels to qml.

Opus
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by Opus » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:51 am

ickby wrote:
In this thread: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=6676 you talked about poor performance of this interface if scene gets big.
ickby wrote:
Thu Feb 19, 2015 2:45 pm
Performance. The alternative Interface is drawn together with the scene graph, so redrawing one means redrawing the other. This means the interface gets slow if the scene gets big.
Did this change with Qt 5?

User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by regis » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:08 am

ickby wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:41 am
I did use qt's qml language to build the UI, you can find everything here:
https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_sf_mas ... rc/Gui/Qml

Some stuff is done on the c++ side, like splitting property dialog from the combo view or exposing all freecad panels to qml.
Oh boy, the rabbit hole is getting deeper. I'm already completely lost. I've cloned you repo but nothing makes sense as of yet with all these qt5 attempts to install. For now I'll keep things simple with what works on my end. I'll just focus on qt4 and gradually learn it. I don't know what and how to use qml and now I hear c++ is in the air aswell. I think I'll stick with qt4 and python that I currently don't know. Tooo many tangents already to keep track off.

User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by regis » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:56 pm

based on some of the youtube interface design it seems like the qt4 designer that i have will work?
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 08-55-11.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 08-55-11.png (283.67 KiB) Viewed 492 times

User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5915
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by Kunda1 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:22 pm

regis, why not just use qt5-designer ? what's with the attachment to qt4 ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features

User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by regis » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:06 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:22 pm
regis, why not just use qt5-designer ? what's with the attachment to qt4 ?
hey if you can show how to get started, I don't mind. I have no attachment at this point as i've barely started using qt4. But if you can show me how to get qt5 running until I can open @ickby's files with and reverse engineer what he's been doing, i don't mind. that's all i'm asking.

User avatar
regis
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Post by regis » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:17 am

ok i found this link and installer

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install build-essential libgl1-mesa-dev
And also this one

Code: Select all

sudo apt install qt5-default qttools5-dev-tools qttools5-dev
https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/linux.html
Hehe fellows I think we are in buisness
The about me says that it's qt5 this time, but the interface seems to be the same as qt4
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 22-14-09.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 22-14-09.png (75.42 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 22-15-48.png
Screenshot from 2019-02-07 22-15-48.png (222.41 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Last edited by regis on Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply