wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20309
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

Post by wmayer »

Without this commit it's a ten minute hang
With it, it's sluggish performance.
I'm talking about manipulating the 3d view (rotate, pan,etc.)
The real problem is the huge number of nodes in the scenegraph. When you open the file and display these little red indicators and then open the Scene inspector utility you'll see that one view provider has a sub-graph with thousands of elements. So, the bottleneck is to traverse these many nodes for every little pan or rotate action. IMO, it should be first checked if the rendering time can be speed up by re-organizing the scene graph.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

Post by bernd »

wmayer wrote:
The real problem is the huge number of nodes in the scenegraph. When you open the file and display these little red indicators and then open the Scene inspector utility you'll see that one view provider has a sub-graph with thousands of elements. So, the bottleneck is to traverse these many nodes for every little pan or rotate action. IMO, it should be first checked if the rendering time can be speed up by re-organizing the scene graph.
What do you mean by reorganizing the szene graph? Would it not better just to make less arrows by making a bigger step between the arrows. viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9884
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20309
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

Post by wmayer »

What do you mean by reorganizing the szene graph?
1. It could be checked if using SoGroup instead of SoSeparator speeds it up
2. It could be checked if for every little indicator a new sub-graph is created or if only one instance is created with a different translation node
3. It could be checked if using SoMultipleCopy node can be used
4. It could be checked if display lists or other OpenGL tricks can be applied
Would it not better just to make less arrows by making a bigger step between the arrows. viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9884
This cures the symptoms but it doesn't really fix the problem. But sure, this can be done additionally.

Btw, recently you were talking about fixing some issues in the Abaqus writer. Do you remember in which thread?
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

Post by bernd »

Got it, thanks Werner.
wmayer wrote:Btw, recently you were talking about fixing some issues in the Abaqus writer. Do you remember in which thread?
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10110&start=10#p83382
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20309
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: wrong return nodes in getNodesByEdge

Post by wmayer »

Thanks.
Post Reply