Ticket #3932 - Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8959
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by bernd » Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:54 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:06 pm
DeepSOIC wrote:
Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:53 pm
I'm thinking on how to improve/redesign it to treat this case too.
Would it be all right to ask user select more elements to identify a solid?
yes
Andrei Tsayukov
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:16 am

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by Andrei Tsayukov » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:26 am

Hi everyone!

I have the same issue on selecting the inner solids. I followed the same tutorial.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16274
Build type: Pre-release
Locale: Russian (ru_RU)
bbatazai
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:19 pm

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by bbatazai » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:17 am

I just ran into the same problem and did the following: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 55#p300855

Hope it works for you!

Baltasar
bbatazai
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:19 pm

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by bbatazai » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:45 pm

Be aware that the workaround affects the mesh region mechanism.
Selecting the original solid instead of the compound filter part, gmsh does not create the mesh anymore and states:

Solid <Solid object at 0x55e4db172200> not found in: <CompSolid object at 0x55e4dc2402c0>
Problem: For the geometry of the following shape was no Shape found: <Solid object at 0x55e4db172200>
The reference Shape is not a child nor it is the shape the mesh is made of. : <Solid object at 0x55e4db172200>

Best
Baltasar

Freecad Info:

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.
Build type: Release
Python version: 2.7.16rc1
Qt version: 5.11.3
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8959
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by bernd » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:26 pm

this happens normaly if you did a mistake ... mostly they are not obvisous by default. Would you post the file? As I said this methode is not failsafe!
dblyth
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 10:34 pm

Re: Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by dblyth » Thu May 30, 2019 10:38 pm

FYI, I have worked around this issue by just pulling all of the solids of a CompSolid out as shapes, and assigning all materials and boundary conditions to these shapes.

I had no success in trying to use the inputs to the boolean fragments. Such an approach just threw errors finding the appropriate solids during meshing.

A simple script to pull out the solids for selected shapes is:

Code: Select all

for sel in App.Gui.Selection.getSelection():
	try:
		solids = sel.Shape.Solids
	except:
		continue
	for solid in solids:
		Part.show(solid)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6355
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Ticket #3932 - Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by Kunda1 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:18 pm

issue #3932: FEM - Selecting the interior solids of CompSolid
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
UR_
Posts: 1147
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Ticket #3932 - Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by UR_ » Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:02 pm

Seem to be no more difficulties since Link merge :roll:

Screenshot 010.png
Screenshot 010.png (24.55 KiB) Viewed 277 times
Screenshot 011.png
Screenshot 011.png (25.74 KiB) Viewed 277 times
GIF.gif
GIF.gif (811.63 KiB) Viewed 277 times
test.fcstd
(488.85 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

version:
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18194 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f312878452bd25036f499b19bf0a9b6ea486e86a
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6355
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Ticket #3932 - Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by Kunda1 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:43 pm

Any progress on this?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
HoWil
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Ticket #3932 - Selecting solids on interior of CompSolid

Post by HoWil » Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:27 am

UR_ wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:02 pm
Seem to be no more difficulties since Link merge :roll:
Nice finding. But :D until now this does only work for faces, isn't it?
realthunder wrote: ping
Can you please extend the selection dialogue for selecting solids. Solids inside solids is here the supreme discipline. Please see the attached 'boolean fragments' model as a start point where a Cube is inside another Cube and both were mergede. Selecting the inner cube is essential for e.g. the definition of different material settings.
*Whichlist*Switching through the "selection items" with turning the mouse wheel whould a fast way to do selections.*EndWhichlist*
BR Howil
Image
Attachments
Screenshot from 2020-01-20 10-25-02.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-20 10-25-02.png (191.05 KiB) Viewed 104 times
booleanFragments.FCStd
(9.67 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests