Identification of faces

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
AtD

Identification of faces

Post by AtD » Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:35 am

Hi all,

first, I must apologize for not having searched around alot for my problem, I have no time :D But I am willing to invest some time, when maybe you can point me in a direction of how to tackle my issue.

I am a CFD engineer and my ultimate goal is to have a geometry that is parametrized, have some predefined boundary conditions which I apply to certain faces in the model and perform a simulation. I use the CFD workbench for that, where I was able to implement my whole workflow already: parametrize the geometry, mesh it, add boundary conditions, run the simulation - all automated.
Now, a major drawback is still, that the complexity of the model is quite constrained: some of the parameters I introduced lead to a change of the overall number of faces inside the model. Which is problematic, because inside the CfdOFWorkbench (and all other cfd software), boundary conditions are set on faces. Now, if the number of faces changes, the references set inside the boundary conditions need to be updated. This can be done by looking closely how the numbering changes and adapt that pattern. However, this is a tedious task and requires to have at least someone who understands Python, and needs to be done for every variant of geometry that can arise from the parameters. Alright, so thats the problem.