Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
caunyd
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:58 am

Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by caunyd » Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:07 am

Hi guys. I downloaded a file in Solidworks format. I converted to a Step 214 File, so I could import it and modify it with FreeCAD. Using the Part Workbench, I tried to convert the file into a solid, and I was given the following message “Cannot convert because Shape is not a shell.”

I tried then exporting the original file as an STL and importing it, so I could convert it into a solid from the mesh, and was given the same message. I tried also to refine the shape, to see if this would work, and it didn’t

Lastly, I tried making a simple copy and converting that to a solid, and that didn’t work either. My goal is to be able to modify the file so I can add different accessories to the weapon, so I can print it out for my Punisher action figure. Thanks!
Attachments
Scar.FCStd
(374.31 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
chrisb
Posts: 24234
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by chrisb » Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:37 am

From what I've seen here, Steps are already solids.
chrisb
Posts: 24234
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by chrisb » Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:48 am

CheckGeometry shows lots of errors. You may try Part->ExplodeCompound, and investigate the components - or export a sound model.
caunyd
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:58 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by caunyd » Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:24 pm

I did CheckGeometry and I didn't see any errors or invalid shapes. Am I doing something wrong? I'm using the following version of FreeCAD

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19263 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: c4ca00a1d5b7922ef1d2ae3e820bb34ffdb64d9f
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 24234
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by chrisb » Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:31 pm

caunyd wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 1:24 pm
I did CheckGeometry and I didn't see any errors or invalid shapes.
In the settings of CheckGeometry you can activate BOPCheck.

Exploding the compound worked here too.
openBrain
Posts: 3898
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by openBrain » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:38 pm

Can you share the STEP file to ease investigation?
caunyd
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:58 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by caunyd » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:42 pm

openBrain wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:38 pm
Can you share the STEP file to ease investigation?
I just tried, and it said the file was too large. I'll see what I can do to reduce it to get it attached. Thanks Guys.
openBrain
Posts: 3898
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by openBrain » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:55 pm

caunyd wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:42 pm
I just tried, and it said the file was too large. I'll see what I can do to reduce it to get it attached. Thanks Guys.
Maybe just ZIP it. ;)
fc_tofu
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:56 pm

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by fc_tofu » Mon Mar 16, 2020 6:53 pm

caunyd wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:07 am
...
Lastly, I tried making a simple copy and converting that to a solid, and that didn’t work either. My goal is to be able to modify the file so I can add different accessories to the weapon, so I can print it out for my Punisher action figure. Thanks!
I checked your attachment, and found it is a compound of different parts in geometric meaning.
I am not expert, so I donnot know the exact meaning of term "compound" in STEP and FreeCAD. By "geometric meaning", I mean you can break it into different solid parts, and there are lots of gaps between these parts.
FreeCAD "Convert to solid” command can only handle contiguous and closed geometric object. But your model is not contiguous.
fsc_2020-03-17_024410.jpg
fsc_2020-03-17_024410.jpg (127.18 KiB) Viewed 119 times
In above example, there is 1 object named "Fusion" in data-structure meaning. But in geometric meaning, there are 2 objects, "Cube" and "Cylinder".
"Fusion" is not contiguous. "Cube" and "Cylinder" each are contiguous. Thus "Fusion" object is a "compound" of "Cube" and "Cylinder" in my meaning. If you use "Convert to solid" command onto "Fusion", you will fail and get the error msg "Shape is not a shell".
caunyd
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:58 am

Re: Creating a file that I modify in FreeCAD

Post by caunyd » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:23 am

ChrisB solved it for me. Thanks to everyone for their suggestions. I love this forum!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests