Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1220
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Roy_043 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:31 pm

The shortcut for Edit -> Toggle Edit mode does not work. Shift+E is already used for Std_BoxElementSelection.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1220
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Roy_043 » Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:44 am

Bump.
This is not a big issue, but looks strange as the duplicate shortcuts occur in the same menu.
Syres
Posts: 637
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Syres » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:17 am

As a test I changed line 2711 in src\Gui\CommandView.cpp from:

Code: Select all

    sAccel        = "Shift+E";
to:

Code: Select all

    sAccel        = "Ctrl+Shift+B";
and recompiled and it appears to work as expected but the choice of keys is subjective and whether the StdBoxElementSelection command or the Toggle Edit command should be changed is open for debate as in the 3 years of using FreeCAD I never used that menu selection or the short cut.

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20317 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: f516c4af0535052eeaf7d436d35eeaab2102e3d7
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1220
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Roy_043 » Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:16 pm

IMO the Edit Mode shortcut can be removed. Most users will probably double click the item in the tree anyway.
Syres
Posts: 637
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Syres » Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:31 pm

Roy_043 wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:16 pm
IMO the Edit Mode shortcut can be removed. Most users will probably double click the item in the tree anyway.
As there's been no other feedback, I've created a PR https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3297 as per your suggestion.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1220
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by Roy_043 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:17 pm

@Syres: Thank you.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Post by yorik » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:05 am

Later on we could think of another shortcut there... I'sd like to use TAB, like in Blender, but TAB is very useful too to navigate inside widgets, so not sure...
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chrisb, easyw-fc, joea, kisolre, martin51 and 15 guests