Page 1 of 1

Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:31 pm
by Roy_043
The shortcut for Edit -> Toggle Edit mode does not work. Shift+E is already used for Std_BoxElementSelection.

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:44 am
by Roy_043
Bump.
This is not a big issue, but looks strange as the duplicate shortcuts occur in the same menu.

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:17 am
by Syres
As a test I changed line 2711 in src\Gui\CommandView.cpp from:

Code: Select all

    sAccel        = "Shift+E";
to:

Code: Select all

    sAccel        = "Ctrl+Shift+B";
and recompiled and it appears to work as expected but the choice of keys is subjective and whether the StdBoxElementSelection command or the Toggle Edit command should be changed is open for debate as in the 3 years of using FreeCAD I never used that menu selection or the short cut.

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20317 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: f516c4af0535052eeaf7d436d35eeaab2102e3d7
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:16 pm
by Roy_043
IMO the Edit Mode shortcut can be removed. Most users will probably double click the item in the tree anyway.

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:31 pm
by Syres
Roy_043 wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:16 pm
IMO the Edit Mode shortcut can be removed. Most users will probably double click the item in the tree anyway.
As there's been no other feedback, I've created a PR https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3297 as per your suggestion.

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:17 pm
by Roy_043
@Syres: Thank you.

Re: Shortcut for Toggle Edit mode does not work

Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:05 am
by yorik
Later on we could think of another shortcut there... I'sd like to use TAB, like in Blender, but TAB is very useful too to navigate inside widgets, so not sure...