arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by bambuko » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:15 am

I am trying to sketch some arcs with centres lining up vertically.
Trying to use vertical constraint and it doesn't work :cry:
I am sure it is me doing something wrong, but for the life of me I can't see what my error is?
The only way I can do it is by creating construction line.
Is this it? Is this the only way?
drmacro
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by drmacro » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:26 am

You should be able to select the centers and click the vertical constraint.

You can also make a construction line with vertical constraint and constrain the centers to that.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 2617
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by papyblaise » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:27 am

solution
1- you constraint the first cercle in X and Y , and draw the other cercles whith the same vlues of X , Y
2- use Ref external from the first cercle (the purple) to the 2) and other and clik the center of Ref for the new cercle
Attachments
align.PNG
align.PNG (6.24 KiB) Viewed 325 times
Last edited by papyblaise on Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by bambuko » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:44 am

drmacro wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:26 am
...You should be able to select the centers and click the vertical constraint...
Yes indeed I should be able to but I wasn't able,
the answer/clue is in what you are saying :mrgreen:
Normally one selects the constraint and then select the items it applies to, but...
when it comes to constraining vertically/horizontally cirrcle/arc,
one has to first select the centres and then select the constraint :roll:

Another thing to remember...
Last edited by bambuko on Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by bambuko » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:46 am

papyblaise wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:27 am
solution
1- you constraint the first cercle in X and Y , and draw the other cercles whith the same vlues of X , Y
2- use Ref external from the first cercle to the 2) and other and clik the center of Ref for the new cercle
Thank you.
There are many ways indeed, but I was looking for the graphical method in the sketcher without having to type any values.
drmacro
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by drmacro » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:56 am

Yeah, I always select geometry first then the tool.

Just my SOP.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by bambuko » Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:00 am

drmacro wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:56 am
...Just my SOP.
It's all teething pain with new CAD :cry:
To be expected...
drmacro
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by drmacro » Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:43 am

Understood...I teethed general FC several years back...

I teethed on the Curved Shapes and Sheetmetal workbench a few months/weeks back (volunteering to write documentation is a great way to learn a particular functionality... :) )

My current teething is in the Path workbench. ;)
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
chrisb
Posts: 28855
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by chrisb » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:13 pm

bambuko wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:44 am
Normally one selects the constraint and then select the items it applies to, but...
when it comes to constraining vertically/horizontally cirrcle/arc,
one has to first select the centres and then select the constraint :roll:
You can always go the way of selecting geometry first and then add the constraints. The other way works if you have configured Constraint continue mode in Sketcher preferences.
The possibility of aligning points with the vertical or horizontal constraint was introduced long after the other possibilities, so it may have been forgotten to add it.

Can you write a feature request in the tracker and crossreference it with htis topic?
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: arc/cirles lined up vertically or horizontally - constraint?

Post by bambuko » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:16 pm

chrisb wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:13 pm
...Can you write a feature request in the tracker and crossreference it with htis topic?
I would happily, if only I knew how :) never done it before.
And to be honest at the moment I have mental overload trying to switch to FreeCAD.... so I am happy to accept some idiosyncrcies of FreeCAD :mrgreen: as they are for now.
Perhaps later when I feel more comfortable around FreeCAD?
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: m0n5t3r, MisterMaker, Opusat72, watsug and 24 guests