measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by bambuko » Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:12 am

Is it possible to measure linear distance between origin point (and/or datum axis) and face of a solid body?
If not, what "workarounds" would you suggest to get required info easily.
For now I go into the sketch used to create said body to get the what I need :geek:
but it seems cumbersome :cry:
User avatar
ppemawm
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 3:54 pm
Location: Manhattan New York

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by ppemawm » Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:28 pm

bambuko wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:12 am
Is it possible to measure linear distance between origin point (and/or datum axis) and face of a solid body?
Yes.
If in PartDesign: make sure body is active, add datum vertex to body origin then use Part > linear measure.

BTW you can add the Part Measure tools to the PartDesign toolbars which an be quite handy.
Tools > Customize > Toolbars
"It is a poor workman who blames his tools..." ;)
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by bambuko » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:18 pm

ppemawm wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:28 pm
...If in PartDesign: make sure body is active, add datum vertex to body origin...
thank you -this works OK.
Shame that one cannot pick datum directly,
because adding vertex means I will have to delete it after using it to measure :oops:
but still far more convenient than what I was doing...

ppemawm wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:28 pm
...
BTW you can add the Part Measure tools to the PartDesign toolbars which an be quite handy.
Tools > Customize > Toolbars
That's most useful (and exactly what I was searching for)
I have asked here (don't know how to link to specific post rather than the whole thread, sorry :oops: ):
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 6&start=10

and was pointed to Manipulator workbench, but your suggestion is much more to my liking ;)
Last edited by bambuko on Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
drmacro
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by drmacro » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:45 pm

bambuko wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:18 pm

and was pointed to Manipulator workbench, but your suggestion is much more to my liking ;)
Manipulator WB provides a tool that stays around in all workbenches (Caliper), and show up in the feature tree.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by bambuko » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:58 pm

drmacro wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:45 pm
...tool that stays around in all workbenches (Caliper), and show up in the feature tree.
I am still exploring Manipulator.
My main (and only one, so far) problem with it, is the amount of screen space it takes, if you dock it to the side of the screen for example.
plus it creates entities visible in the tree, that need to be deleted when not needed (I want only temporary measurement while working on something to be discarded when I am finished).
I know you can minimise the tools on the screen ;)
So far now Manipulator is there, to be opened and used when needed...

Measure toolbar added to Part Design takes care of most of my measuring needs without taking too much screen space.

Of course it is entirely possible (and not unheard of) for me to be wrong again :lol:
Last edited by bambuko on Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
drmacro
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by drmacro » Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:03 pm

bambuko wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:58 pm
...
Of course it is entirely possible (and not unheard of) for me to be wrong again :lol:
Nothing wrong.

I am rarely using only one monitor, so never dock it.

In fact, I occasionally un-dock the report view and the python console, even sometimes the combo view.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by bambuko » Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:06 pm

drmacro wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:03 pm
...I am rarely using only one monitor, so never dock it.
In fact, I occasionally un-dock the report view and the python console, even sometimes the combo view.
and... how does this work?
( I mean all this undocking on two monitors)
I have one monitor, admittedly reasonably large, and no space for more :oops:
mario52
Posts: 3215
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by mario52 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:24 pm

Hi
bambuko wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:12 am
Is it possible to measure linear distance between origin point (and/or datum axis) and face of a solid body?
measure linear origin point = 0,0,0 ?

face of a solid = center face, bounbox center object ?

i have Macro_Delta_xyz I can add an option

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by bambuko » Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:27 pm

mario52 wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:24 pm
... measure linear origin point = 0,0,0 ? ...
Yes

mario52 wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:24 pm
...face of a solid = center face, bounbox center object ?...
what I had in mind was the plane of selected face and normal distance of it to origin

mario52 wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:24 pm
...i have Macro_Delta_xyz ...
downloaded and tried to have a go at it,
not doing very well so far - no doubt it is just me :oops:
for example I have tried an edge (first part) and a plane(second part)
which I know both are 22.5 fromZ origin and the edge is 34.2 fromX origin
Z seem to be making sense, but X is a bit more troubling

Image



mario52 wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:24 pm
...I can add an option
mario
If it carries on like this, I will soon be running mario52 special FreeCAD :lol:
it would be useful (at least for me, the way I work...)
thank you in anticipation
jmaustpc
Posts: 10361
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: measure linear - from datum, origin?

Post by jmaustpc » Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:44 pm

bambuko wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:18 pm
I have asked here (don't know how to link to specific post rather than the whole thread, sorry :oops: ):
Every post has a heading that is a copy of the topic title, just click on that and you go to that post within the topic, that is it will move to the top of your current view of the page, then just copy past the URL from your web browser.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], m0n5t3r, MisterMaker, Opusat72 and 18 guests