Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:26 pm

I've followed a tutorial 1_0_StartingToDesignWithFreeCAD.pdf and it all worked. So now I am trying to design a very simple block 70 x 40mm with a 12.5mm hole at one end and left hand corner constrained to XY0,0
But when I go to pad, I get this. Object in white, 1 click on Sketch yellow, I click on origin and then sketch and green and if I double click on Sketch I go back to Sketcher.
So perplexed??


pad1.jpg
pad1.jpg (128.11 KiB) Viewed 347 times


OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22988 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: cdc01cb20cfa74079c45b9dc2dab81e3248b2aa5
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Attachments
Block1.FCStd
(5.55 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Bance
Posts: 1207
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by Bance » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:55 pm

You have a part (yellow steps) but no body (blue steps).

Don't go to Sketcher WB to make a new sketch, select new sketch from PD WB and a body will be created automagically.
mendy
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by mendy » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:57 pm

Hello
Looks like you have not body, just a part. Beat me while adding screenshot :D

See here:
https://wiki.freecadweb.org/PartDesign_Body
Attachments
body.jpg
body.jpg (40.21 KiB) Viewed 332 times
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:27 pm

Thanks.
Well confusing. Why have I got Part and not Body??
Pretty sure when I started it was Body after clicking on the icon. And now a load of error messages??
pad2.jpg
pad2.jpg (155.85 KiB) Viewed 300 times
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:50 pm

So, started again. Seemed to go OK. Then at pad got this:
pad3.jpg
pad3.jpg (134.88 KiB) Viewed 287 times
Can't believe it should be this complicated. And this time, I just centred the rectangle on XY0,0. Think I really want bottom left hand corner at 0,0.
Attachments
Exercise2.FCStd
(15.96 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
mendy
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by mendy » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:52 pm

Possibly you slipped with mouse. Your part and body icons are above each other.
See if this works for you.
Attachments
body.gif
body.gif (563.82 KiB) Viewed 286 times
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:00 pm

That looks good. I'll try.
And constraining to XY0,0, I've selected left side, bottom left vertex and the xy vertex and ><. Rectangle jumps to 0,0 but have an error with the >< constraint.
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:56 pm

Well, it has got someway there. Doesn't look like my dimensions of 70 x 40 x 40. Original rectangle was 70 x 40, and pad 40. And the pocket is only going halfway through instead of 40mm.
This time didn't try to constrain to left bottom corner.
Attachments
Block3.FCStd
(33.37 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
heda
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:49 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by heda » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:48 pm

good to see that you are not giving up. if one learns 3d modelling professionally, there are weeks long courses covering just the basics.

here is what you are designing with a different workflow, the one from part workbench.
it never hurts to see things from a different perspective.

1abcd.png
1abcd.png (169.93 KiB) Viewed 242 times
  1. In a new document, (1) select the part workbench. (2) click the cube icon.
  2. (1) in the treeview select the cube. (2) in the property view, enter the length, width, height. (3) adjust the view with isometric view and fit all.
  3. (1) create a cylinder.
  4. (1) select the cylinder in the treeview. (2) for the diameter, bring up the formula editor by clicking first in the radius property to bring up the small circular icon at the right side of that field, click that icon to get the formula editor, enter the diameter value divided by 2. click ok. (3) change the height to 22.
2abcd.png
2abcd.png (169.42 KiB) Viewed 242 times
  1. (1) expand the placement/position property, modify the z-value to -1. By making the height to 22 and moving it down by one, the cylinder is now protruding at both sides of the cube by 1. This is good practice to avoid flush faces for later boolean operations which can, but does not have to, cause mathematical errors later on.
  2. (1) select both parts in the treeview with ctrl click. (2) press the boolean cut icon.
  3. (1) expand the cut shape in the treeview
  4. (1) select the cylinder in the treeview (2) expand the placement / position property view
3a.png
3a.png (103.19 KiB) Viewed 242 times
  • (1) adjust the x / y position
  • a block with a through hole
4ab.png
4ab.png (87.13 KiB) Viewed 242 times
  1. (1) select the cut in the treeview – right-click and delete, or go to the edit menu and delete or just press delete key
  2. the underlying cube and cylinder are now separate and again part of you root tree
ps: personal reflection, it took 30 seconds to make the block with a hole, creating the whole post took considerably longer - could that be why some of the people that know are less interested in documentation, why would one spend a lot of time on something one already knows... right, one can get payed for doing it, all things considered freecad is an astonishing accomplishment considering that noone gets payed to do anything (maybe not entirely true, but close enough on that payment thing).
mendy
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by mendy » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:53 pm

Oops was referring to your block1 drawing. Missed exercise 2.
On your block3 file you created circle sketch on XZ plane.
It is in the center of the block and you have to pocket and selet Symmetric to plane.
For fun try reverse and you will see pocket on other side of block.
You can also turn on visibility of Origin to help visualize.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GeneFC, Google [Bot], kes and 18 guests