Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm

Thanks for the comprehensive graphics. Have to have a look tomorrow.
Just had a pretty unproductive time all day looking at other free 3D CAD not online software.
It has been a nightmare. I reckon if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins, then it ain't intuitive. eMachineShopCAD was really good and so very simple to use, but obvious that USA company wanted one to use their machine shop and so not all functionality worked, and stl export crashed!!
Most others are rubbish. Wings3D has the Z scale along the base and Y into the air. MS 3D Builder seems to keep all dimensions linked and not clear/simple how to unlink. 3D Crafter didn't want to run and nowhere to set the scale.
So, looks like persevering with FreeCAD. I could be here sometime!!
drmacro
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by drmacro » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:25 pm

CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
I reckon if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins, then it ain't intuitive.
Intro to block with hole:
  • Start new document
  • Select part Design workbench
  • Click new sketch icon
  • Select XY_plane, ok, sketcher opens up.
  • Click on rectangle tool icon
  • Click opposite corners of rectangle (constrain if desired)
  • Click circle tool icon
  • Click at center of hole (somewhere inside the previously drawn rectangle)
  • Move mouse click (again somewhere inside the previously drawn rectangle)
  • (constrain center point and radius if desired)
  • Click Close button in Tasks dialog
  • Click Pad icon
  • Enter a thickness
  • Click Ok button
Feast eyes on block with hole in it in 3D view...
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
Bance
Posts: 1202
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by Bance » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:31 pm

CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins
3D cad is not easy, training for commercial programs starts at around a week to 10 days for beginners and that's full time.
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:16 pm

Bance wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:31 pm
CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins
3D cad is not easy, training for commercial programs starts at around a week to 10 days for beginners and that's full time.
A comment in the Economist recently was that software is becoming less intuitive. Which means more service fees for training!!
Why can't it be as simple to start as eMachineShop CAD.
Draw rectangle
In dimensions set X, Y and Z.
View 3D shape.
Add circle, set depth, select air for hole.
Job done.
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:19 pm

drmacro wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:25 pm
CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
I reckon if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins, then it ain't intuitive.
Intro to block with hole:
Will try that tomorrow.
drmacro
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by drmacro » Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:39 pm

CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:19 pm
...

Intro to block with hole:
Will try that tomorrow.
[/quote]

for more details see the pdf files in the tutorial linked in my signature below... :mrgreen:
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
Bance
Posts: 1202
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by Bance » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:08 pm

CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:16 pm
Why can't it be as simple to start as eMachineShop CAD.
Draw rectangle
In dimensions set X, Y and Z.
View 3D shape.
Add circle, set depth, select air for hole.
Job done.
That's exactly all one does in FreeCad. How is it different (easier?)
Dougl
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:08 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by Dougl » Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:41 am

CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:16 pm
Bance wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:31 pm
CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins
3D cad is not easy, training for commercial programs starts at around a week to 10 days for beginners and that's full time.
A comment in the Economist recently was that software is becoming less intuitive. Which means more service fees for training!!
Why can't it be as simple to start as eMachineShop CAD.
Draw rectangle
In dimensions set X, Y and Z.
View 3D shape.
Add circle, set depth, select air for hole.
Job done.
Mostly because making holes in boxes isn't what everyone wants to do and only what they want to do. Once you get your head around some basics it'll get easier but it's still lots of work as you build more and more complex objects.

I can't sell this guy enough for his technique for video tutorials. Joko Engineering on youtube. Google - joko engineering freecad
And remember, there are lots and lots of ways to approach these design tasks and sometimes what's in our head isn't the most effective way.
Doug
FreeCAD for Linux
CRMS
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by CRMS » Thu Nov 19, 2020 6:46 pm

drmacro wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:25 pm
CRMS wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:40 pm
I reckon if I can't draw a simple 3D box with a couple of holes from installing and reading an intro in 15 mins, then it ain't intuitive.
Intro to block with hole:

Feast eyes on block with hole in it in 3D view...
OK followed that and fine. Smart block with 1 hole. Now for part 2......

A same size hole at the other end of the block and front/rear rather than top/bottom.
So followed previous instructions. Turned block through 90 to front face.
Sketcher and selecting the different plane, draw circle. Constrain. So sketch001 on front face. So far OK.
Discovered I needed pocket this time rather than pad???
But then filleted edges parallel to holes. Last straight edge came up with "Base feature's shape is not a solid"?? And other end has lines around it??

20201119Block.jpg
20201119Block.jpg (113.12 KiB) Viewed 74 times
Attachments
20201119Block.FCStd
(25.6 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Bance
Posts: 1202
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Assistance Please - CAD for a 3D Block??

Post by Bance » Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:36 pm

Hide sketch so you can actually select the edge you want.

A sketch is not a solid obviously!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests