How to create a simple flared cube from 4 sketches

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dapab

How to create a simple flared cube from 4 sketches

Post by dapab »

How do I create an open cube (top and bottom faces) with the top side construction square with longer sides than the bottom construction square (so it is a flared cube).
I'm new to freecad and finding this very tricky. I have considered using the wedge primitive shape tool but doesn't seem to offer all the control I want via easy to apply constraints or remove the top and bottom faces.
Have considered carbon copy and/or trying to apply a new sketch to a datum place at 90 degrees to the last but not much progress.
Ideally I'd like length of the sides of one sketch to constrain the other sketches.
Can anyone please advise the best way forward.
Thanks!
Attachments
planter.FCStd
(9.98 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: How to create a simple flared cube from 4 sketches

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Can you link an image or upload a handmade doodle so we can see what you mean with top and bottom?
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dapab

Post by dapab »

Thanks for the reply
I uploaded a sketch. The top and bottom faces are open
Forgot to say I'm using v0.18 but I don't imagine that makes much difference!
Thanks
Attachments
sketch.jpg
sketch.jpg (22.65 KiB) Viewed 1250 times
jmaustpc
Veteran

Post by jmaustpc »

You replied while I was typing but you should be able to adjust my file to your values...
dapab wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:47 pm Can anyone please advise the best way forward.