Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
leoheck
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by leoheck » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:05 pm

Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?
I was not able to find something like that.
chrisb
Posts: 30620
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by chrisb » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:09 pm

leoheck wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:05 pm
Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?
It's the equal key "=".
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
leoheck
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by leoheck » Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:22 pm

Cool thanks.

Now a better question. Why Freecad is not able to use the formulas right on the main input field by default? Why it needs a second input field?
drmacro
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by drmacro » Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:41 pm

leoheck wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:22 pm
Cool thanks.

Now a better question. Why Freecad is not able to use the formulas right on the main input field by default? Why it needs a second input field?
Because...that's how it works. ;)

The first field does not have the parsing engine.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
leoheck
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by leoheck » Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:56 pm

Alright, why it doesn't have this parse engine in the first input field instead of having 2 input fields?
drmacro
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by drmacro » Mon Nov 23, 2020 7:08 pm

leoheck wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:56 pm
Alright, why it doesn't have this parse engine in the first input field instead of having 2 input fields?
I'd guess because the first field is a generic field, possibly QT5 base, and the second provides access to the internal parsing engine that spans several areas of FreeCAD and allows access to not only internal data, but, spreadsheets, dynamic data, linked objects, named dimensions, etc. that just isn't needed to be initialized to enter a simple value.

Or maybe the first field is just legacy and the second field is expanded functionality that came later.

But, just a guess.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
chrisb
Posts: 30620
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by chrisb » Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:07 pm

It is probably more efficient to use a value right away instead of checking for an expression, albeit a constant one.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
leoheck
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by leoheck » Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:42 pm

2 fields for the same thing doesn't make sense.
drmacro
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Does Freecad have a shortcut to access the formula field of the input field?

Post by drmacro » Tue Nov 24, 2020 12:22 am

documented behavior:

one is for direct entry of known value.

the second is for entry of an expression.

the second is accessed from the first by hitting the '=' key.

as the saying goes: "it is what it is" ;)
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests