Assembly 4 simple mortise and tenon joint

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
sam9am

Assembly 4 simple mortise and tenon joint

Post by sam9am »

Complete noob here. I am working on drafting a coffee table. Found a great website that gave step by step instructions on how to do it in Assembly 2 and 0.18 and then made the mistake of upgrading to Big Sur before completing the project :( Am now in 0.19 and Assembly 4 and am wondering if there are any tutorials or step by step instructions for a simple mortise and tenon joint. The tutorials I've found have been way over my head...
kisolre
Veteran

Re: Assembly 4 simple mortise and tenon joint

Post by kisolre »

Hello and welcome to the forum.
If you provide link to the original tutorial I am sure you will get ideas how to adjust to A2+, Assembly4, Assembly3, ... :)
sam9am

Post by sam9am »

Thanks Kisolre. Never thought of doing that! Here's a link to that tutorial

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDPv9tB ... CTClpUpGrt

I was able to follow his steps very easily using the 0.18 version of Freecad and Assembly 2 but now neither of those options are open since I've upgraded to Big Sur. I can easily make the boards with their mortise and tenons, I'm stuck when it comes to assemgling them together... the assembly 4 tutorials I've seen are for more complex objects than what I will ever need to deal with :lol:
drmacro
Veteran

Post by drmacro »

I'm a bit confused. I know there are/were some big issues with Big Sur and FreeCAD.

But, are saying that you upgraded to a new version of FreeCAD along with Big Sur and are having problems with FreeCAD?

Or just that the newer version of FreeCAD doesn't have Assembly 2?

In fact, any of the assembly workbenches may be over kill for what you want... ;)

But, A2+ should suffice, though even still over kill.