Dimension style

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply
dino
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Dimension style

Post by dino » Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:04 pm

Hello!
I am using FC0.19, where can I set the dimension style? in FC 0.19 17651 we have the arrows in 20052 there is not, also the lines style in 17651 it's better for me.

Thanks
Have a good day
Dino
Attachments
20052.PNG
20052.PNG (184.79 KiB) Viewed 461 times
17651.PNG
17651.PNG (185.25 KiB) Viewed 461 times
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: [regression] Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:17 pm

dino wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:04 pm
I am using FC0.19, where can I set the dimension style? in FC 0.19 17651 we have the arrows in 20052 there is not, also the lines style in 17651 it's
This a known change that could not be avoided. The numbering of the line end styles had to be reordered because the preferences and the properties used different initial values and thus numbering.

For the final FC 0.19 release this was recently fixed. Now the numbering is consistent but in older FC 0.19 versions you need to change the line endings manually to get the ones you like back.

Note that FC 0.19 is no stable but a rolling development release. First if it is announced as a stable release you can rely on that nothing will be changed that affects existing documents. Using a development snapshot is therefore always a risk for real.life documents.
Last edited by uwestoehr on Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: [regression] Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:23 am

uwestoehr wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:17 pm
This a known change that could not be avoided.
I was wrong. This is a serious issue because this affects ALL existing drawings. The reason is that now dimensions can hate also no line end symbol. The point is that this style has the enum 0 while previously the enum 0 meant style arrow. So the new option to have no symbol, must not be 0. This is easy to fix and I'll make a PR this evening.
wandererfan wrote: .
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: [regression] Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:30 am

uwestoehr wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:23 am
This is easy to fix and I'll make a PR this evening.
Here it is: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3221
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:23 pm

dino wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:04 pm
I am using FC0.19, where can I set the dimension style? in FC 0.19 17651 we have the arrows in 20052 there is not, also the lines style in 17651 it's better for me.
Hi Dino, can you please confirm if the issue is fixed for you with FC 0.19 20201 or newer? (new builds will be available soon)
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:37 am

uwestoehr wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:23 pm
fixed for you with FC 0.19 20201 or newer?
There was still an issue. Here is the fix:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3235
dino
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: Dimension style

Post by dino » Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:17 pm

uwestoehr wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:23 pm
is fixed for you with FC 0.19 20201 or newer?
Hi,
not yet, there is only a problem in placement
Quote.png
Quote.png (43.12 KiB) Viewed 209 times
OS: Devuan GNU/Linux 3 (beowulf)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20209 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5fc4a26a00390e91cbf91848b766b68ad87e5917
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:47 pm

dino wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:17 pm
not yet, there is only a problem in placement
Version: 0.19.20209 (Git) AppImage
Thanks for the feedback. The fix for the issue you see was merged a few commits after 0.19.20209. Could you please test once you have access to a newer version?
Please back report this because this would affect all existing drawings created with FC 0.18

wandererfan wrote: .
dino
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: Dimension style

Post by dino » Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:29 pm

uwestoehr wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:47 pm
Could you please test once you have access to a newer version?
Very good work, with newer versions it's OK!
Istantanea_2020-03-30_14-24-37.png
Istantanea_2020-03-30_14-24-37.png (37.7 KiB) Viewed 154 times

OS: Devuan GNU/Linux 3 (beowulf)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20310 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2cac4898d7d62276fbbaaef5b4cecb9bfdd29a33
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Dimension style

Post by uwestoehr » Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:55 pm

dino wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:29 pm
Very good work, with newer versions it's OK!
Version: 0.19.20310 (Git) AppImage
Thank you for the feedback!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests