Need help with Draft tutorial

A place to share learning material: written tutorials, videos, etc.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Gravydog

Need help with Draft tutorial

Post by Gravydog »

I am a beginner and starting to work through some tutorials. I am currently working on the Draft tutorial, https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Draft_tutorial, and I'm already stuck!

I have created the arcs no problem, but when I add the lines and try to upgrade nothing appears to happen. I am using a 30" high resolution monitor but I still have to zoom in to a ridiculous degree to see that the ends of my lines do not actually connect to the ends of the arcs. The tutorial says that when I am using the line tool and I hover over the end of an arc there should be a white point and an icon to help me nail it, but while I can get a point to appear, it looks yellow and almost obscured by the mouse arrow and no icon ever shows. I'm also curious why when trying to select the starting point for the line the cursor is a "+" but when trying select the end point the cursor is an arrow? Even when I try this with a high level of zoom and it looks correct, if I zoom in a lot more there is still a gap. (I've tried to find a way to connect the lines after the fact with Join but it doesn't work for me.)

I believe I have followed all the steps up to this point precisely and the data for both arcs looks correct when they are selected. Does anyone recognize what the problem might be?

Rob

High on my wish list: that whatever is in the center of the screen stays centered when zooming. At high levels it is almost impossible to find what you were looking at. Is there a trick to this?

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0