cfdOF install

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: cfdOF install

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Rodp1 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 3:47 am
I'll need more information as detailed in the link below.
I've now installed it on two computers - on one machine it works fine, on the other I'm getting issues.

Code: Select all

/*   Windows 32 and 64 bit porting by blueCAPE: http://www.bluecape.com.pt   *\
|  Based on Windows porting (2.0.x v4) by Symscape: http://www.symscape.com   |
\*---------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
Build  : 5.x-963176928289
Exec   : C:/PROGRA~1/BLUECF~1/ofuser-of5/platforms/mingw_w64GccDPInt32Opt/bin/cartesianMesh.exe
Date   : Jan 20 2020
Time   : 11:44:12
Host   : "ASAW109800"
PID    : 24372
I/O    : uncollated
Case   : C:/Temp/meshCase
nProcs : 1
SigFpe : Enabling floating point exception trapping (FOAM_SIGFPE).
fileModificationChecking : Monitoring run-time modified files using timeStampMaster (fileModificationSkew 10)
allowSystemOperations : Allowing user-supplied system call operations

// * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * //
Create time

Created 11 surface patches
Setting root cube size and refinement parameters
Root box (-7.8 -7.8 -7.8) (17.8 17.8 17.8)
Requested cell size corresponds to octree level 8
Requested boundary cell size corresponds to octree level 8
Refining boundary
Refining boundary boxes to the given size
Finished refining boundary boxes
Refining boxes intersecting surface meshes
Finished refinement of boxes intersecting surface meshes
Performing automatic refinement
Performing automatic refinement
Marking inside/outside.

libgomp: Thread creation failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
I haven't seen that before. I can only advise to try to uninstall and re-install blueCFD, and reinstall cfMesh.
Rodp1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:50 am

Re: cfdOF install

Post by Rodp1 »

[/quote]

I haven't seen that before. I can only advise to try to uninstall and re-install blueCFD, and reinstall cfMesh.
[/quote]

Thanks - I've tried that, and in doing so I notice that I get a warning about there already being a version of MPI installed. My guess is that this is somehow related. A quick google on the message brings up some discussion around it being an issue with the number of threads being created.

Is there any way to execute cfmesh on a single thread? I've tried modifying the Allmesh file that's generated as below, but it didn't help in this case

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
runCommand()
{
    if [ "$1" == "mpirun" ]; then sol="$4"; else sol="$1"; fi
    sol=$(basename -- "$sol")
    sol="${sol%.*}"
    if [ -f log."$sol" ]; then rm log."$sol"; fi
    "$@" 1> >(tee -a log."$sol") 2> >(tee -a log."$sol" >&2)
    err=$?
    if [ ! $err -eq 0 ]; then exit $err; fi
}

# Extract feature edges
runCommand surfaceFeatureEdges -angle 60 "constant/triSurface/XOR_Geometry.stl" "XOR_Geometry.fms"
runCommand cartesianMesh

if [ ! -z $FOAM_API ] && [ $FOAM_API -ge 1906 ]
then
    runCommand surfaceMeshExtract mesh_outside.stl
else
    runCommand surfaceMeshTriangulate mesh_outside.stl
fi

runCommand surfaceTransformPoints -scale "(1000 1000 1000)" mesh_outside.stl mesh_outside.stl
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: cfdOF install

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Rodp1 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:59 am Is there any way to execute cfmesh on a single thread? I've tried modifying the Allmesh file that's generated as below, but it didn't help in this case
Changing

Code: Select all

OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
to

Code: Select all

export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
may do it.
Rodp1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:50 am

Re: cfdOF install

Post by Rodp1 »

oliveroxtoby wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:08 am
Rodp1 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:59 am Is there any way to execute cfmesh on a single thread? I've tried modifying the Allmesh file that's generated as below, but it didn't help in this case
Changing

Code: Select all

OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
to

Code: Select all

export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
may do it.
Thanks again. For some reason I need to set export OMP_STACKSIZE=100M. This was defaulting to 1G, which was what was killing it.

No idea why this is happening, I can only guess there is a conflict with something else installed on my machine.
User avatar
oliveroxtoby
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: cfdOF install

Post by oliveroxtoby »

Rodp1 wrote: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:19 am
Thanks again. For some reason I need to set export OMP_STACKSIZE=100M. This was defaulting to 1G, which was what was killing it.

No idea why this is happening, I can only guess there is a conflict with something else installed on my machine.
Glad you found a workaround - thanks for reporting back.
Post Reply